The League Of Gentlemen. Image shows from L to R: Tubbs (Steve Pemberton), Edward (Reece Shearsmith). Copyright: BBC.

The League Of Gentlemen

BBC Two sitcom / sketch show set in an odd town. 22 episodes (3 series), 1999 - 2017. Stars Reece Shearsmith, Mark Gatiss and Steve Pemberton.

Series 1

1. Welcome to Royston Vasey

First broadcast: Monday 11th January 1999

Outsider Benjamin arrives in town. Ben's friend Martin visits the Local Shop and meets the unfailingly strange Tubbs and Edward. Restart officer Pauline is angered that a job seeker has a job interview.

In-depth Guide

2. The Road To Royston Vasey

First broadcast: Monday 18th January 1999

We meet Pop, the godfather of sweets and crisps, and Hilary Briss, a butcher with something sinister in his sausages.

In-depth Guide

3. Nightmare in Royston Vasey

First broadcast: Monday 25th January 1999

Work on the new road begins but a terrifying discovery is made. Pauline's jobseekers are taught interview techniques. A tortoise meets a sticky end.

In-depth Guide

4. The Beast Of Royston Vasey

First broadcast: Monday 1st February 1999

The schoolchildren get a visit from the incompetent Legz Akimbo Theatre Company and the Denton children get cousin Benjamin in more trouble than he can possibly imagine.

In-depth Guide

5. Love Comes to Royston Vasey

First broadcast: Monday 8th February 1999

It seems that Mike and Cheryl may have made a mistake in allowing Geoff to be their best man.

In-depth Guide

6. Escape From Royston Vasey

First broadcast: Monday 15th February 1999

Mr Chinnery has some bad luck with a calving cow. Edward's local shop receives an unexpected visitor.

In-depth Guide

Buy Series 1