Mrs Brown's Boys wins a BAFTA award

Sunday 27th May 2012, 11:00pm

BAFTA Award.The winners of the prestigious British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) TV awards for 2012 have been announced.

The results were revealed on BBC One this evening, in a ceremony hosted by Dara O'Briain. Mrs Brown's Boys, the comedy show popular with TV viewers but a programme that tends to be disliked by critics, has beaten Fresh Meat, Friday Night Dinner and Rev to the award for situation comedy.

Other winners include Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle, Darren Boyd, Jennifer Saunders and Graham Norton.

Steven Moffat, the writer behind sitcoms like Joking Apart and Coupling, but now known more for writing Doctor Who and Sherlock, won the BAFTA Special Award this year.

Here is a summary of the comedy-related nominations, with the winners highlighted:

Comedy Programme

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle. Stewart Lee. Copyright: BBC.

Charlie Brooker's 2011 Wipe

The Comic Strip Presents: The Hunt For Tony Blair

Cricklewood Greats

Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle - Winner

Situation Comedy

Mrs. Brown's Boys. Copyright: BBC / BocPix.

Fresh Meat

Mrs. Brown's Boys - Winner

Friday Night Dinner


Entertainment Performance

The Graham Norton Show. Graham Norton. Copyright: So Television.

Alan Carr (for Alan Carr: Chatty Man)

Dara O'Briain (for Mock The Week)

Graham Norton (for The Graham Norton Show) - Winner

Harry Hill (for Harry Hill's TV Burp)

Female Performance in a Comedy Programme

Jam & Jerusalem. Caroline Martin (Jennifer Saunders). Copyright: BBC.

Jennifer Saunders (for Absolutely Fabulous) - Winner

Olivia Colman (for Twenty Twelve)

Ruth Jones (for Stella)

Tamsin Greig (for Friday Night Dinner)

Male Performance in a Comedy Programme

Spy. Tim (Darren Boyd). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Brendan O'Carroll (for Mrs. Brown's Boys)

Darren Boyd (for Spy) - Winner

Hugh Bonneville (for Twenty Twelve)

Tom Hollander (for Rev)

Audience Award

Celebrity Juice. Image shows from L to R: Holly Willoughby, Leigh Francis, Fearne Cotton. Copyright: Talkback / TalkbackThames.

Celebrity Juice - Winner

Educating Essex

Fresh Meat

Frozen Planet


The Great British Bake Off

New Media

Psychoville (for its interactive websites) - Winner

Other Awards

Elsewhere in the awards Derren Brown: The Experiments beat Celebrity Juice, Harry Hill's TV Burp and Michael McIntyre's Comedy Roadshow to the Entertainment Programme award.

To see the full list of winners across all genres see the BAFTA Website

Here's a video of Mrs Brown's Boys creator Brendan O'Carroll picking up the show's Best Sitcom award:

Latest news