Mrs. Brown's Boys. Image shows from L to R: Buster Brady (Danny O'Carroll), Grandad Brown (Dermot O'Neill), Dino Doyle (Gary Hollywood), Rory Brown (Rory Cowan), Cathy Brown (Jennifer Gibney), Mark Brown (Pat Shields), Betty Brown (Amanda Woods), Winnie McGoogan (Eilish O'Carroll), Dermot Brown (Paddy Houlihan), Agnes Brown (Brendan O'Carroll), Maria Nicholson / Brown (Fiona O'Carroll). Copyright: BBC / BocPix.

Mrs. Brown's Boys

BBC One sitcom starring Brendan O'Carroll. 36 episodes (3 series), 2011 - 2020. Stars Brendan O'Carroll, Jennifer Gibney, Paddy Houlihan, Rory Cowan and others.

Returns Wednesday 25th December at 10:30pm. Episode Guide
Christmas 2013, New Year Special is repeated on Gold today at 9pm.

Mrs. Brown's Boys. Agnes Brown (Brendan O'Carroll). Copyright: BBC / BocPix.

Mrs. Brown's Boys

Sitcom adaptation of the popular live stage show starring Brendan O'Carroll as aged housewife Agnes Brown

2011 - 2020
36   (3 series)
Brendan O'Carroll, Jennifer Gibney, Paddy Houlihan, Rory Cowan, Pat Shields, Eilish O'Carroll, Danny O'Carroll, Fiona O'Carroll and others
Brendan O'Carroll
Ben Kellett
Stephen McCrum and Martin Delany

Irish comedian Brendan O'Carroll stars as Agnes Brown in Mrs. Brown's Boys. Ireland's funniest and proudest mother, Agnes Brown, is a foul-mouthed Dublin matriarch who interferes in the lives of her children and friends.

The theatre show Mrs. Brown's Boys has been a sell-out success for a number of years in Ireland and the north of Britain, and this series, specially written by Brendan for the BBC, is jam-packed with all the laughs, surprises and drama of Mrs Brown on stage. Prepare for a riot of bad behaviour as Agnes offers help and advice to her family and friends.

Production Details

Production companies
Laugh track
Live audience

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Monday 21st February 2011 on BBC One at 10:35pm
Last new broadcast
Tuesday 1st January 2019 on BBC One at 10pm
Upcoming repeats
  1. Christmas 2013 Episode 2: Today at 9pm on Gold
  2. Christmas Special Episode 1: Today at 9:50pm on Gold
  3. Christmas Special Episode 1: Tomorrow at 12:20am on Gold
  4. Christmas 2018 Episode 1: Tomorrow at 9:30pm on BBC1
  5. Christmas 2018 Episode 1: Tomorrow at 11:35pm on BBC1 Wales
  6. Christmas 2013 Episode 1: Tuesday at 9:05pm on Gold
  7. Christmas 2013 Episode 2: Tuesday at 9:55pm on Gold
  8. Christmas 2013 Episode 1: Wednesday at 1:05am on Gold
  9. Christmas 2013 Episode 2: Wednesday at 9pm on Gold
  10. Christmas 2012 Episode 1: Wednesday at 9:55pm on GoldShow all repeats
  11. Christmas 2012 Episode 1: Thursday at 9pm on Gold
  12. Christmas 2012 Episode 2: Thursday at 9:40pm on Gold
  13. Christmas 2012 Episode 2: Friday at 9pm on Gold
  14. Christmas 2019 Episode 1: Friday 27th December at 10pm on BBC1
  15. Series 2 Episode 1: Friday 3rd January at 10:20pm on Gold
  16. Series 2 Episode 2: Friday 3rd January at 11pm on Gold
  17. Series 2 Episode 1: Saturday 4th January at 10pm on Gold
  18. Series 2 Episode 2: Saturday 4th January at 10:40pm on Gold

Website links


Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • View location details
  • View details on 28 filming dates
  • See ratings for 34 episodes

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?