I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue tops best radio comedy list

Tuesday 17th November 2020, 8:20am

I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue. Image shows from L to R: Graeme Garden, William Rushton, Barry Cryer, Humphrey Lyttelton, Tim Brooke-Taylor. Copyright: BBC.

Radio 4 panel show I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue has come top of a Radio Times list of the greatest radio comedy shows.

The top 40 is:

1. I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue. Image shows from L to R: Graeme Garden, Barry Cryer. Copyright: BBC.I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue

2. Hancock's Half Hour. Image shows from L to R: Sidney James (Sid James), Anthony Aloysius St John Hancock (Tony Hancock), Bill Kerr (Bill Kerr).Hancock's Half Hour

3. Round The Horne. Copyright: BBC.Round The Horne

4. On The Hour. Image shows from L to R: Chris Morris, David Schneider, Patrick Marber, Rebecca Front, Doon Mackichan, Steve Coogan, Chris Morris, David Schneider, Patrick Marber, Rebecca Front, Doon Mackichan, Steve Coogan. Copyright: BBC.On The Hour

5. The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions.The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

6. The Goon Show. Image shows from L to R: Hercules Grytpype-Thynne (Peter Sellers), Neddie Seagoon (Harry Secombe), Count Jim Moriarty (Spike Milligan), Professor Osric Pureheart (Michael Bentine).The Goon Show

7. Mark Steel's In Town. Mark Steel. Copyright: BBC.Mark Steel's In Town

8. Cabin Pressure. Image shows from L to R: Arthur (John Finnemore), Douglas (Roger Allam), Carolyn (Stephanie Cole), Martin (Benedict Cumberbatch). Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.Cabin Pressure

9. Blue Jam. Chris Morris. Copyright: Talkback Productions.Blue Jam

10. John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme. Image shows from L to R: Lawry Lewin, Margaret Cabourn-Smith, John Finnemore, Carrie Quinlan, Simon Kane. Copyright: BBC.John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme

11. Ed Reardon's Week. Ed Reardon (Christopher Douglas). Copyright: BBC.Ed Reardon's Week

12. Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show!. Count Arthur Strong (Steve Delaney). Copyright: Komedia Entertainment.Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show!

13. The Shuttleworths. John Shuttleworth (Graham Fellows). Copyright: BBC.The Shuttleworths

14. The World According To Kenny Everett. Kenny Everett. Copyright: Burning Bright Productions.The Kenny Everett Show

15. The News Quiz. Miles Jupp. Copyright: BBC.The News Quiz

16. I'm Alan Partridge. Alan Partridge (Steve Coogan). Copyright: Talkback Productions.Knowing Me, Knowing You... With Alan Partridge

17. Dead Ringers. Image shows from L to R: Lewis Macleod, Debra Stephenson, Jon Culshaw, Jan Ravens, Duncan Wisbey. Copyright: BBC.Dead Ringers

18. Hello, Cheeky!. Copyright: BBC.Hello, Cheeky!

19. Ladies Of Letters. Image shows from L to R: Irene (Prunella Scales), Vera (Patricia Routledge). Copyright: BBC.Ladies Of Letters

20. The Ricky Gervais Show. Image shows from L to R: Stephen Merchant, Karl Pilkington, Ricky Gervais. Copyright: Media Rights Capital / Wildbrain. The Ricky Gervais Show

21. Adam & Joe (6Music)
22. Bridget Christie Minds The Gap
23. Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy
24. Meet David Sedaris
25. Down The Line
26. On The Town With The League Of Gentlemen
27. I'm Sorry, I'll Read That Again
28. Tim Key's Late Night Poetry Programme
29. Just A Minute
30. Alexei Sayle's Imaginary Sandwich Bar
31. Jeremy Hardy Speaks To The Nation
32. Frank Skinner (on Absolute Radio)
33. What Ho, Jeeves!
34. Just William
35. The Now Show
36. Britain In Bits With Ross Noble
37. Goodness Gracious Me
38. Bleak Expectations
39. The Flight Of The Conchords
40. Harry Hill's Fruit Corner

A panel of judges decided on the list, based on an initial longlist of suggestions from readers. The panel featured writers and performers Jo Brand, Marcus Brigstocke, Barry Cryer, Steve Delaney, Christopher Douglas, Adrian Edmondson, Deborah Frances-White, Graeme Garden, Charlie Higson, Robin Ince, Andrew Nickolds, Geoff Norcott, Steve Punt, David Quantick, Lee Ridley and Lou Wakefield; producers Colin Anderson, Steve Doherty, Dirk Maggs, Ed Morrish, Caroline Raphael and Paul Sylvester; plus editors and commentators Jane Anderson, Andrew Collins, Shem Law, Stuart Maconie and Mark Radcliffe.

I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue - which dubs itself as the "antidote to panel games" - launched in 1972 with Humphrey Lyttelton as host. Jack Dee took over as chair in 2008 following Lyttelton's death. Meanwhile Barry Cryer, Tim Brooke-Taylor, Graeme Garden and Willie Rushton have been regular panellists over the show's long-run.

Series 73 - which features the last appearances of Goodies star Brooke-Taylor, who died earlier this year, starts on Monday 30th November.

Judge Adrian Edmondson described I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue as "the most ridiculous, most surreal, most incomprehensibly funny show on any medium. Why am I listening to two people with no musical ability playing swanee whistle and kazoo? I don't know."

Radio Times radio editor Jane Anderson says the list is "a reminder of some of radio's finest comedy gold. And take note of what Steve Punt once said about our winner, which is so fitting for our times: 'There are no points being made or targets being attacked.' It's time for love, life and lots of laughter."

Related Guides

Latest news