This Is Jinsy. Image shows from L to R: Maven (Justin Chubb), Sporall (Chris Bran). Copyright: The Welded Tandem Picture Company.

This Is Jinsy

Sky Atlantic and BBC Three sitcom set on a surreal island. 17 episodes (pilot + 2 series), 2010 - 2014. Stars Justin Chubb, Chris Bran, Alice Lowe, Geoffrey McGivern and others.

Series 2, Episode 6 - Speckled Pom Pom

Stephen Mangan plays Mr Lovely, the owner of Mr Lovely's Lovely Jumper Shop with a penchant for all-in-one knitted bodysuits.

Further details

This Is Jinsy. Image shows from L to R: Sporall (Chris Bran), Mr Lovely (Stephen Mangan), Maven (Justin Chubb). Copyright: The Welded Tandem Picture Company.

Preferring crackpot theories to common sense, Maven is convinced that the island is going to be overthrown by a group of subversive residents communicating via coded textile messaging. His evidence? The number of islanders wearing novelty knitwear.

Maven is determined to unravel the wool-based terrorist plot and, staying one step ahead of made-up nemesis The Speckled Pom-Pom, issues a Jinsy-wide jumper ban, leading to a tense encounter with Mr Lovely of Mr Lovely's Lovely Jumper Shop.

This Is Jinsy. Mr Lovely (Stephen Mangan). Copyright: The Welded Tandem Picture Company.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 5th February 2014
Sky Atlantic
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Justin Chubb Maven
    Chris Bran Sporall
    Alice Lowe Soosan Noop
    Geoffrey McGivern (as Geoff McGivern) Trince
    Janine Duvitski Mrs Goadion
    Jennifer Saunders Miss Reason (Voice)
    Chris Bran Ensemble Actor
    Justin Chubb Ensemble Actor
    Tim Downie Ensemble Actor
    Emma Kennedy Ensemble Actor
    Dave Mounfield (as David Mounfield) Ensemble Actor
    Jiggy Bhore Ensemble Actor
    Ian Hughes (as Ian 'Pebbles' Hughes) Ensemble Actor
    Guest cast
    Stephen Mangan Mr Lovely
    Debbie Chazen Amunta Tishay
    KT Tunstall Meb Twaheely
    Writing team
    Chris Bran Writer
    Justin Chubb Writer
    Jeremy Dyson Script Editor
    Production team
    Matt Lipsey Director
    James Dean Producer
    Margot Gavan Duffy Producer
    Lucy Lumsden Executive Producer
    Jon Mountague Executive Producer
    Sophie Clarke-Jervoise Executive Producer
    Chris Carey Executive Producer
    Chris Bran Associate Producer
    Justin Chubb Associate Producer
    Charlie Phillips Editor
    Joe Randall-Cutler Editor
    Nic Pallace Production Designer
    Tim Bran Composer


    Twaheely Transfix - Mittens

    Sandy's Choice. It's Twaheely Transfix with Mittens (featuring KT Tunstall).

    Featuring: KT Tunstall (Meb Twaheely), Chris Bran, Justin Chubb.


    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 4 past repeats of this episode
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see Associate Producer credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?