This Is Jinsy. Image shows from L to R: Maven (Justin Chubb), Sporall (Chris Bran). Copyright: The Welded Tandem Picture Company.

This Is Jinsy

Sky Atlantic and BBC Three sitcom set on a surreal island. 17 episodes (pilot + 2 series), 2010 - 2014. Stars Justin Chubb, Chris Bran, Alice Lowe, Geoffrey McGivern and others.

Series 2, Episode 3 - Double Duck

Katy Brand guest stars as Madame Astralina, a flamboyant psychic who obtains her readings from a pen of rats.

Further details

This Is Jinsy. Madame Astralina (Katy Brand). Copyright: The Welded Tandem Picture Company.

Maven and Sporall are in high spirits as they attend Jinsy's Firelock Festival, but the mood soon sours when they stop by to see Madame Astralina. The local astrologer specialises in rat bum-reading and she's got some dire news to share with poor Maven: he's going to be assassinated.

Rodent sphincter doesn't lie so alarm bells understandably ring, until, that is, Sporall stumbles upon a resident who looks almost exactly like Maven, who, if needs be, can take the bullet. Plus, over at the Moosik Pak, Melody Lane lets the emotion pour out, sharing more of her music with the haunting-sounding Five Special Potatoes.

This Is Jinsy. Madame Astralina (Katy Brand). Copyright: The Welded Tandem Picture Company.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 15th January 2014
Sky Atlantic
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Justin Chubb Maven
    Chris Bran Sporall
    Alice Lowe Soosan Noop
    Geoffrey McGivern (as Geoff McGivern) Trince
    Janine Duvitski Mrs Goadion
    David Hatton Tracee Henge
    Greg Davies Jennitta Bishard
    Jennifer Saunders Miss Reason (Voice)
    Chris Bran Ensemble Actor
    Justin Chubb Ensemble Actor
    Tim Downie Ensemble Actor
    Emma Kennedy Ensemble Actor
    Dave Mounfield (as David Mounfield) Ensemble Actor
    Jiggy Bhore Ensemble Actor
    Ian Hughes (as Ian 'Pebbles' Hughes) Ensemble Actor
    Guest cast
    Katy Brand Madame Astralina
    Writing team
    Chris Bran Writer
    Justin Chubb Writer
    Jeremy Dyson Script Editor
    Production team
    Matt Lipsey Director
    James Dean Producer
    Margot Gavan Duffy Producer
    Lucy Lumsden Executive Producer
    Jon Mountague Executive Producer
    Sophie Clarke-Jervoise Executive Producer
    Chris Carey Executive Producer
    Chris Bran Associate Producer
    Justin Chubb Associate Producer
    Charlie Phillips Editor
    Joe Randall-Cutler Editor
    Nic Pallace Production Designer
    Tim Bran Composer



    A song about Debra.

    Featuring: Chris Bran, Justin Chubb.

    Five Special Potatoes

    A song about potatoes.

    Featuring: Justin Chubb.

    Knickers In The Wind

    Another song from The Island Singers.

    Featuring: Chris Bran, Justin Chubb.


    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 5 past repeats of this episode
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see Associate Producer credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?