Have I Got News For You. Image shows left to right: Ian Hislop, Paul Merton. Credit: Matt Crockett
Have I Got News For You

Have I Got News For You

  • TV panel show
  • BBC One / BBC Two
  • 1990 - 2024
  • 590 episodes (66 series)

Long-running topical panel game with a strong political slant, featuring team captains Ian Hislop and Paul Merton. Also features Angus Deayton.

Episode menu

Series 58 - Have I Got 2019 News For You

A compilation of the popular news looking back at the big news of 2019, a year that was largely dominated by Brexit. Eventually a General Election was held - and the rest is history. Mind you, there was some joy courtesy of the England cricket team, with their memorable victory over New Zealand in the World Cup, even if it was by the slightest of margins. Team captains Paul Merton and Ian Hislop are joined by a variety of guest hosts and panellists from the worlds of comedy, journalism and current affairs in highlights of the year's shows.

Broadcast details

Friday 27th December 2019
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 27th December 2019 11:30pm BBC1 Wales
Monday 30th December 2019 12:05am
45 minute version
Monday 30th December 2019 1:20am
45 minute version
BBC1 Scot
Sunday 25th October 2020 9:00pm
60 minute version
Monday 26th October 2020 2:40am
50 minute version
Tuesday 29th December 2020 1:15am BBC1
Sunday 8th August 2021 1:00am
70 minute version
Sunday 8th August 2021 9:00pm
60 minute version
Friday 29th October 2021 12:40am
60 minute version
Friday 14th January 2022 9:00pm
60 minute version
Wednesday 16th March 2022 11:00pm
60 minute version
Tuesday 12th April 2022 2:15am
60 minute version

Cast & crew

Ian Hislop Team Captain
Paul Merton Team Captain
Guest cast
Martin Clunes Host / Presenter
Alexander Armstrong Host / Presenter
Jo Brand Host / Presenter
David Mitchell Host / Presenter
Stephen Mangan Host / Presenter
Rhod Gilbert Host / Presenter
Alan Johnson (as Alan Johnson MP) Host / Presenter
Victoria Coren Mitchell Host / Presenter
David Tennant Host / Presenter
Katherine Ryan Host / Presenter
Adil Ray Host / Presenter
Richard Ayoade Host / Presenter
Steph McGovern Host / Presenter
David Dimbleby Host / Presenter
Helen McCrory Host / Presenter
Ross Noble Guest
Andy Hamilton Guest
Jon Richardson Guest
Miles Jupp Guest
Roisin Conaty Guest
Rachel Johnson Guest
Richard Osman Guest
Camilla Long Guest
Henning Wehn Guest
Sara Pascoe Guest
Josh Widdicombe Guest
Cariad Lloyd Guest
Phil Wang Guest
Jess Phillips (as Jess Phillips MP) Guest
Kiri Pritchard-McLean Guest
Janey Godley Guest
Tom Allen Guest
Stacey Dooley Guest
Tim Shipman Guest
Ash Sarkar Guest
Johnny Mercer (as Johnny Mercer MP) Guest
Zoe Lyons Guest
Heidi Allen (as Heidi Allen MP) Guest
Emma Barnett Guest
Layla Moran (as Layla Moran MP) Guest
Fintan O'Toole Guest
Ivo Graham Guest
Helen Lewis Guest
Maisie Adam Guest
Rory Stewart Guest
Chris McCausland Guest
Brian Cox Guest
Nicky Morgan Guest
Writing team
Pete Sinclair Writer (Additional Material)
Colin Swash Writer (Additional Material)
Rob Colley Writer (Additional Material)
Ged Parsons Writer (Additional Material)
Dan Gaster Writer (Additional Material)
Kevin Day Writer (Additional Material)
Giles Pilbrow Writer (Additional Material)
Shaun Pye Writer (Additional Material)
Christine Rose Writer (Additional Material)
James Farmer Writer (Additional Material)
Fraser Steele Writer (Additional Material)
Robin Flavell Writer (Additional Material)
Karl Minns Writer (Additional Material)
Andrew Fawn Writer (Additional Material)
Alan Connor Writer (Additional Material)
Dan Bowman Writer (Additional Material)
Monica Long Writer (Additional Material)
Katie Storey Writer (Additional Material)
Jane McCutcheon Writer (Additional Material)
Vivienne Riddoch Writer (Additional Material)
Simeon Courtie Writer (Additional Material)
Sara Gibbs Writer (Additional Material)
Mike Shephard Writer (Additional Material)
Alison Spittle Writer (Additional Material)
Edward Tew Writer (Additional Material)
Zoƫ Tomalin Writer (Additional Material)
George Lewis Writer (Additional Material)
Tim Telling Writer (Additional Material)
Karen Dickinson Writer (Additional Material)
Fiona Pearce Writer (Additional Material)
Matt Hulme Writer (Additional Material)
Catherine Brinkworth Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Paul Wheeler Director
Martin Lord Director
Jo Bunting Series Producer
Danny Carr Series Producer
Mike Rayment Producer
Richard Wilson Executive Producer
Pinki Chambers Executive Producer
Ruby Kuraishe Executive Producer
Katie Taylor Executive Producer
Jon Harvey Producer
Simon Brook Editor
Jon Ellis Editor
Todd Dalton Editor
Rich Ellis (as Richard Ellis) Editor
Nick Pratt Editor
Chris Clark Editor
Jonathan Paul Green Production Designer
Mikki Rain Production Designer
Hugo Keating Production Designer
Karen Jackson Costume Designer
Peter Raby Lighting Designer
George Webley (as Big George) Composer
Tamara Bradshaw Costume Designer


While it might not have personally opened the gates of our current hell, the programme certainly got the keys cut. Paul Merton and Ian Hislop will be looking back on one of the most chaotic years in modern British history in a compilation show that is sure to be dominated by more than one B word.

Ali Catterall, The Guardian, 27th December 2019

Share this page