The British Comedy Awards. Jonathan Ross. Copyright: Unique Productions / CPL Productions
The British Comedy Awards

The British Comedy Awards

  • TV factual
  • ITV / Channel 4
  • 1990 - 2014
  • 25 episodes

Britain's premier comedy awards for almost 25 years, honouring the very best in the business. Features Jonathan Ross.

Episode menu

The British Comedy Awards 2008

Angus Deayton hosts as The British Comedy Awards honour the biggest and best in television comedy. The Inbetweeners were the main winners.

Further details


Best Comedy Entertainment Programme: Harry Hill's TV Burp

Best Comedy Film: Hot Fuzz

Best New TV Comedy: The Inbetweeners

Best TV Comedy: Gavin & Stacey

Best TV Comedy Actor: Ricky Gervais (Extras)

Best TV Comedy Actress: Sharon Horgan (Pulling)

Best Comedy Entertainment Personality: Alan Carr (The Sunday Night Project)

Best Male Comedy Newcomer: Simon Bird

Best Female Comedy Newcomer: Katy Brand

Best TV Comedy Drama: Drop Dead Gorgeous

Best Live Standup Performer: Russell Brand

Best Comedy Panel Show: QI

Ronnie Barker Award: David Renwick

British Comedy Lifetime Achievement Award: Jasper Carrott

Outstanding Contribution To Comedy: Geoffrey Perkins (awarded posthumously)


Following the 'Sachsgate' prank telephone call scandal, Jonathan Ross resigned his regular hosting role for this year's ceremony.

Broadcast details

Saturday 6th December 2008
90 minutes

Share this page