The British Comedy Awards. Jonathan Ross. Copyright: Unique Productions / CPL Productions
The British Comedy Awards

The British Comedy Awards

  • TV factual
  • ITV / Channel 4
  • 1990 - 2014
  • 25 episodes

Britain's premier comedy awards for almost 25 years, honouring the very best in the business. Features Jonathan Ross.

Episode menu

The British Comedy Awards 2007

The 18th annual awards were held as normal at The London Studios on Wednesday 5th December, but amidst the scandal of 2005's corruption, embarrassed ITV bosses did not broadcast the event.


Best New Comedy Entertainment Programme: Al Murray's Happy Hour

Best Comedy Film: The Simpsons Movie

Best International Comedy TV Show: Curb Your Enthusiasm

Britain's Best New TV Comedy: Gavin & Stacey

Best TV Comedy: Peep Show

Best TV Comedy Actor: David Mitchell (Peep Show)

Best TV Comedy Actress: Liz Smith (The Royle Family)

Best Comedy Entertainment Personality: Simon Amstell (Never Mind The Buzzcocks)

Best Male Comedy Newcomer: James Corden] (Gavin & Stacey)

Best Female Comedy Newcomer: Ruth Jones] (Gavin & Stacey)

Best Live Stand-Up: Alan Carr

Ronnie Barker Award: Simon Pegg

British Comedy Lifetime Achievement Award: Stephen Fry


This ceremony was not broadcast on TV as ITV was still recovering from the phone voting scandal that had been revealed in July. The Sun newspaper had discovered that the premium rate phone votes for the 2005 People's Choice Award had been partially ignored as the post-News segment of the show was recorded, but presented as if it was still live, thus viewers were phoning in to vote for an award that had already been handed out.

Broadcast details

This episode has never been broadcast.

Share this page