BBC New Comedy Award. Copyright: BBC.

BBC New Comedy Award

BBC Radio 4 Extra and BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio 4 stand-up awards. 75 episodes (9 series), 2011 - 2019. Stars Mark Watson and Patrick Kielty.

2014, Episode 1 - Edinburgh Heat 1

BBC New Comedy Award. Susan Calman. Copyright: BBC.
Nearly 800 budding stand-ups applied, now hear the heats. Susan Calman presents the first show, recorded at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. Ten new comics battle for a place in the semi-finals. Jason Byrne is the guest judge.

Broadcast details

Friday 12th September 2014
BBC Radio 4 Extra
60 minutes

Cast & crew

Guest cast
Susan Calman Host / Presenter
Steve Bennett Guest
Alison Vernon-Smith Guest
Jason Byrne Guest
Jack Barry Self
Njambi McGrath Self
Matthew Courtnell Self
Lucy Frederick Self
John Tansey Self
Lee Ridley (as Lost Voice Guy) Self
Paul Jones Self
Ed Caruana Self
Abigoliah Schamaun Self
Sean Hegarty Self