BBC New Comedy Award. Copyright: BBC.

BBC New Comedy Award

BBC Radio 4 Extra and BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio 4 stand-up awards. 75 episodes (9 series), 2011 - 2019. Stars Mark Watson and Patrick Kielty.

2011, Episode 1 - Semi Final 1

Patrick Kielty hosts the first of two semi-finals of BBC Radio 2's nationwide search. With Adam Hess, Luke Graves, Joe Lycett, Mark Restuccia, Angela Barnes and Horse & Louis.

Further details

BBC New Comedy Award. Image shows from L to R: Louis Fonseca, Joe Lycett, Nick Horseman, Luke Graves, Adam Hess, Angela Barnes, Mark Restuccia. Copyright: BBC.

Broadcast details

Saturday 4th June 2011
BBC Radio 2
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Patrick Kielty Host / Presenter
Guest cast
Rhona Cameron Guest
Tania Harrison Guest
Bruce Martin Guest
Adam Hess Self
Luke Graves Self
Nick Horseman (as Horse & Louis) Self
Louis Fonseca (as Horse & Louis) Self
Joe Lycett Self
Mark Restuccia Self
Angela Barnes Self
Production team
Lianne Coop Producer


The First Semi-Final

Highlights from the first semi-final of the 2011 New Comedy Award, recorded at the Pleasance Theatre, Edinburgh on Friday 3 June 2011.

Can't see a video here? Watch this clip on

Featuring: Adam Hess, Luke Graves, Horse & Louis, Horse & Louis, Joe Lycett, Mark Restuccia, Angela Barnes, Rhona Cameron, Tania Harrison, Bruce Martin.