BBC New Comedy Award. Copyright: BBC
BBC New Comedy Award

BBC New Comedy Award

  • Radio stand-up
  • BBC Radio 4 Extra / BBC Radio 2 / BBC Radio 4
  • 2011 - 2023
  • 77 episodes (11 series)

The BBC's nationwide search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent. Stars Mark Watson and Patrick Kielty.

Episode menu

2011, Episode 2 - Semi Final 2

Tonight at The Komedia in Bath, six acts go head-to-head to see who will make it to the final. Taking part are Ian Smith, Pat Cahill, Chris Turner, Michael J Dolan, Andrew Ryan and Tez Ilyas.

Preview clips

Broadcast details

Saturday 11th June 2011
BBC Radio 2
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Patrick Kielty Host / Presenter
Guest cast
Tom Allen Guest
Stephanie Merritt Guest
Jon Holmes Guest
Ian Smith Self
Pat Cahill Self
Chris Turner Self
Michael J Dolan Self
Andrew Ryan Self
Tez Ilyas Self
Production team
Lianne Coop Producer


The Second Semi-Final

Highlights from the second semi-final of the 2011 New Comedy Award, recorded at the Bath Komedia on Friday 10 June.

View this clip on the BBC website

Featuring: Pat Cahill, Tez Ilyas, Michael J Dolan, Patrick Kielty, Andrew Ryan, Ian Smith, Chris Turner, Tom Allen, Jon Holmes & Stephanie Merritt.

Share this page