BBC New Comedy Award. Copyright: BBC
BBC New Comedy Award

BBC New Comedy Award

  • Radio stand-up
  • BBC Radio 4 Extra / BBC Radio 2 / BBC Radio 4
  • 2011 - 2023
  • 77 episodes (11 series)

The BBC's nationwide search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent. Stars Mark Watson and Patrick Kielty.

Episode menu

2011 - Grand Final

The live hour-long final of the stand-up awards hosted by Patrick Kielty featuring performances by the six finalists - Angela Barnes, Mark Restuccia, Joe Lycett, Pat Cahill, Chris Turner and Tez Ilyas.

Preview clips


7pm - 8pm. Then Alan Carr's general entertainment show between 8pm - 9pm, with the results announced from 9pm - 9:30pm.

Broadcast details

Saturday 18th June 2011
BBC Radio 2
90 minutes

Cast & crew

Patrick Kielty Host / Presenter
Guest cast
Lewis Carnie Guest
Sarah Millican Guest
Stephen K Amos Guest
Jane Berthoud Guest
Chris Ramsey Guest
Pat Cahill Self
Chris Turner Self
Joe Lycett Self
Mark Restuccia Self
Angela Barnes Self
Tez Ilyas Self
Production team
Lianne Coop Producer


Audio: Angela Barnes' Winning Routine

Hear Angela Barnes, Radio 2 New Comedy Award champion, perform her winning stand-up routine.

View this clip on the BBC website

Featuring: Angela Barnes.

BBC New Comedy Award - Final Highlights

Highlights from the live final of the BBC New Comedy Award 2011, recorded at the Tabernacle in West London on Saturday 18th June 2011.

Featuring: Angela Barnes, Pat Cahill, Tez Ilyas, Stephen K Amos, Patrick Kielty, Joe Lycett, Sarah Millican, Chris Ramsey, Mark Restuccia & Chris Turner.

Share this page