BBC New Comedy Award. Copyright: BBC
BBC New Comedy Award

BBC New Comedy Award

  • Radio stand-up
  • BBC Radio 4 Extra / BBC Radio 2 / BBC Radio 4
  • 2011 - 2023
  • 77 episodes (11 series)

The BBC's nationwide search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent. Stars Mark Watson and Patrick Kielty.

Episode menu

2013, Episode 1 - Heat 1

The first heat of the 2013 BBC Radio New Comedy Award. Recorded at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, with host Susan Calman and guest judge Dan Antopolski.

Preview clips

Further details

BBC New Comedy Award. Chris Grady. Copyright: BBC


Recorded at BBC Potterrow in Edinburgh on 20th August 2013. The judges were Alison Vernon-Smith, Steve Bennett and Dan Antopolski.

Broadcast details

Friday 6th September 2013
BBC Radio 4 Extra
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Guest cast
Susan Calman Host / Presenter
Dan Antopolski Guest
James Loveridge Self
Daryl Perry Self
Keiron Nicholson Self
Patrick Morris Self
Sofie Hagen Self
Chris Grady Self
Hari Kanth (as Hari Sriskantha) Self
Dan Fardell Self
Simon D. Heaven Self
Alexander Bennett Self
Production team
Tilusha Ghelani Producer
Luke Doran Producer


2013 - Heat 1 Results

The runners-up and the winner of the first heat talk about their experiences.

View this clip on the BBC website

Featuring: Chris Grady, Sofie Hagen & Daryl Perry.

Share this page