BBC New Comedy Award. Copyright: BBC
BBC New Comedy Award

BBC New Comedy Award

  • Radio stand-up
  • BBC Radio 4 Extra / BBC Radio 2 / BBC Radio 4
  • 2011 - 2023
  • 77 episodes (11 series)

The BBC's nationwide search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent. Stars Mark Watson and Patrick Kielty.

Episode menu

2014 - Grand Final

The final of the competition, broadcast as part of The Steve Wright Show. The show will be broadcast live from The Comedy Store in London. Featuring Tom Ward, Hari Sriskantha, Brennan Reece, Tom Little, Lost Voice Guy and Amir Khoshsokhan.

Preview clips

Further details

Six comedians from around the UK have battled their way through to the final of the BBC Radio New Comedy Award that will take place at London's iconic Comedy Store on 17th December.

Hosted by Patrick Kielty, this year's final will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 2 during Steve Wright in the Afternoon (2pm-5pm) and will see the finalists battle it out for the top spot from what has been a hotly fought contest.

This year's competition received over 750 entries from across the nation with 80 comedians selected to perform in the regional heats. Once again listeners were given the chance to hear every exciting moment of the competition heats on BBC Radio 4 Extra, with programmes still available online.

Heats started at the legendary Edinburgh fringe before moving on to Cardiff, Manchester and London. Following the second semi-final, only six competitors remain. They consist of a writer, a voice-over artist, a full-time stand-up comedian, a support worker, a software developer, and a council worker. They are:

- Thomas Ward from London

- Hari Sriskantha from Barnet

- Brennan Reece from Lancashire

- Tom Little from Cumbria

- Lost Voice Guy from Newcastle

- Amir Khoshsokhan from Sutton

The winning comedian will receive a £1000 prize, plus guidance and the chance for a commission from BBC Radio Comedy.

Last year's winner Steve Bugeja has gone on to support Russell Kane on tour and is currently developing a pilot for BBC Radio Comedy. Of the competition, he says: "Quite simply it was the best thing that has happened to me in my career so far." He continues "I now regularly get paid to do the best job in the world and get to play some of the nicest rooms in the country."

Lewis Carnie, Head of Programmes, Radio 2, said: "With the live final of the BBC Radio New Comedy Award being broadcast live on Steve Wright's show, this is a great opportunity for these talented finalists to be heard by a huge audience and get our listeners voting for their favourite. We're dedicated to nurturing new talent at Radio 2 and this competition exemplifies that sentiment perfectly."

Jane Berthoud, Head of Radio Comedy, adds: "The final of the BBC Radio New Comedy Award is always exciting, but this year, going live into The Steve Wright Show on Radio 2 is the icing on the cake. It's a fantastic opportunity for all the finalists, and should be a great show. I'm really looking forward to it."

Broadcast details

Wednesday 17th December 2014
BBC Radio 2
60 minutes

Cast & crew

Patrick Kielty Host / Presenter
Guest cast
Hari Kanth (as Hari Sriskantha) Self
Brennan Reece Self
Tom Ward Self
Lee Ridley (as Lost Voice Guy) Self
Amir Khoshsokhan Self
Tom Little Self


Audio: Lost Voice Guy wins BBC New Comedy Award 2014

Lost Voice Guy's set and winning speech.

Featuring: Patrick Kielty & Lee Ridley.

Share this page