Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

BBC Two sitcom about the inner workings of government. 23 episodes (3 series), 1980 - 1984. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam.

Series 3, Episode 4 - The Moral Dimension

Jim heads overseas to mark the signing of an important contract with a Muslim state - a strict, alcohol-free Muslim state. Panicking at the thought of 5 hours of mere orange juice at the reception, he orders the establishment of a special 'communications room' - but is even more shocked to learn of bribery in securing the deal.

Broadcast details

Thursday 2nd December 1982
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Guest cast
Antony Carrick Bill Pritchard (Press Officer)
Michael Sharvell-Martin Ross
Walter Randall Prince Mohammed
Vic Tablian Arab
Sam Dastor Arab (Qumrani Businessman)
April Walker Jenny Goodwin (Guardian Journalist)
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Peter Whitmore Director
Peter Whitmore Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 27 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, composer & editor credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?