British Comedy Guide

Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

BBC Two sitcom about the inner workings of government. 23 episodes (3 series), 1980 - 1984. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and others.

Series 1, Episode 1 is repeated on Gold on Monday at 7:35am

Yes Minister. James Hacker (Paul Eddington). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

Political satire in which well-meaning MP Jim Hacker has a fast introduction to the world of Whitehall and must then struggle against the Civil Service

1980 - 1984
23   (3 series)
Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam
Antony Jay and Jonathan Lynn
Sydney Lotterby and Peter Whitmore
Sydney Lotterby and Peter Whitmore

Jim Hacker, Member of Parliament, is appointed to the Cabinet as Minister For Administrative Affairs. There he is introduced to Bernard Woolley, his Principal Private Secretary, and the Civil Service's head of the deparment, Permanent Secretary Humphrey Appleby.

Once ensconced in his ministry, Hacker is forced to fight Appleby, not to mention the Whitehall machine at large, at every turn in order to get his own way - and soon finds that manifesto promises are far harder to keep than anyone might have guessed.

Production data

Use the menu bar above to access more pages.

Share this page