Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

BBC Two sitcom about the inner workings of government. 23 episodes (3 series), 1980 - 1984. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam.

Series 1, Episode 1 - Open Government

Newly installed in his office, Jim Hacker is about to have his first encounter with the feared Sir Humphrey Appleby in an effort to establish "Open Government".


Produced as a pilot, this episode features a different opening title sequence and music to the rest of the series.

Broadcast details

Monday 25th February 1980
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Neil Fitzwilliam Frank Weisel
Guest cast
John Nettleton Sir Arnold Robinson (Cabinet Secretary)
Edward Jewesbury Vic Gould (Chief Whip)
Norman Mitchell The Mayor
David Moran Nigel Lloyd-Pritchard
Fraser Kerr Radio Reporter
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Stuart Allen Director
Stuart Allen Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 34 further repeats of this episode
  • Details of when and where this episode was recorded
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer & editor credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?