Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

BBC Two sitcom about the inner workings of government. 23 episodes (3 series), 1980 - 1984. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam.

Series 3, Episode 5 is repeated on BBC4 on Tuesday at 8pm.

Series 1, Episode 4 - Big Brother

As the new Government continues with long-brewing plans for a 'National Integrated Data Base' of the public's information, Jim sets out to ensure that the privacy of the individual is protected - and Sir Humphrey poses firm opposition to legislative changes!

Broadcast details

Monday 17th March 1980
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Neil Fitzwilliam Frank Weisel
Guest cast
Robert Urquhart Tom Sargent MP (Jim's Predecessor)
Frederick Jaeger Godfrey Finch (World In Focus Reporter)
Andrew Lane 'Topic' Floor Manager
Sheila Ferris 'Topic' Director
Matthew Roberton 'Topic' Crew Member
Arthur Cox George (Jim's Driver)
Robert McKenzie Self
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 37 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see composer, editor & production designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?