Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

BBC Two sitcom about the inner workings of government. 23 episodes (3 series), 1980 - 1984. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam.

Series 1, Episode 7 - Jobs For The Boys

The Minister gets into a spot of hot water when discussing a landmark scheme between Government and industry taking place in the Midlands - the Solihull Project - on a radio talk show. It soon becomes apparent that not all is running as it should, and rather distasteful steps must be taken to smooth the issue.

Broadcast details

Monday 7th April 1980
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Neil Fitzwilliam Frank Weisel
Guest cast
Richard Vernon Sir Desmond Glazebrook (Chairman of Bartlett's Bank)
Arthur Cox George (Jim's Driver)
Richard Davies Joe Morgan (CAW Union General Secretary)
Brian Hawksley Sir George Conway
John D. Collins BBC Radio Interviewer
Charles McKeown BBC Radio Producer
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 33 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see composer, production designer & editor credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?