Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

BBC Two sitcom about the inner workings of government. 23 episodes (3 series), 1980 - 1984. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam.

Series 1, Episode 2 - The Official Visit

The President of tiny African nation Buranda - formerly a British colony - is overthrown in a coup d'├ętat just days before he is due to visit the United Kingdom. Jim's determined that the new President should fulfill the plans, but Humphrey is less than enthused.

Broadcast details

Monday 3rd March 1980
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Paul Eddington James Hacker
    Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
    Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
    Guest cast
    Antony Carrick Bill Pritchard (Press Officer)
    Tenniel Evans Martin (Foreign Secretary)
    John Savident Sir 'Jumbo' Frederick
    Thomas Baptiste President Charles 'Selim Mohammed'
    Robert Dougall Self
    Writing team
    Antony Jay Writer
    Jonathan Lynn Writer
    Production team
    Sydney Lotterby Director
    Sydney Lotterby Producer
    Ron Bowman Editor
    Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
    Tim Gleeson Production Designer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 34 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?