Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

BBC Two sitcom about the inner workings of government. 23 episodes (3 series), 1980 - 1984. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam.

Series 2, Episode 2 is repeated on BBC4 on Tuesday at 8pm.

Series 1, Episode 6 - The Right To Know

Jim is on his high-horse about what he needs to know - and that's everything. Sir Humphrey, on the other hand, believes he should only know what he wants him to know, and begins swamping the Minister with useless information. Soon trouble is brewing over the detail of a badger colony at Hayward's Spinney.

Broadcast details

Monday 31st March 1980
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Guest cast
John Savident Sir 'Jumbo' Frederick
Geraldine Cowper (as Gerry Cowper) Lucy Hacker
Harriet Reynolds Female Environmentalist
Roger Elliott Male Environmentalist
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 36 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see composer, editor & production designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?