Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC
Yes Minister

Yes Minister

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Two
  • 1980 - 1984
  • 23 episodes (3 series)

Political satire in which well-meaning MP Jim Hacker has a fast introduction to the world of Whitehall and must then struggle against the Civil Service. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 1 - The Compassionate Society

A political opportunity arises when Jim discovers a brand new hospital has yet to employ a single member of medical staff, or admit a single patient. He's determined to see the facility in use, or close it. Humphrey, however, has other ideas.

Broadcast details

Monday 23rd February 1981
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 21st June 2011 8:00pm Gold
Wednesday 12th October 2011 10:40am Gold
Wednesday 12th October 2011 5:20pm Gold
Friday 27th April 2012 11:45pm Gold
Saturday 28th April 2012 1:40am Gold
Thursday 23rd August 2012 1:15pm Gold
Thursday 23rd August 2012 7:40pm Gold
Thursday 10th January 2013 11:00pm Gold
Friday 11th January 2013 8:20pm Gold
Sunday 3rd February 2013 2:00am Gold
Sunday 9th February 2014 11:40pm Gold
Monday 10th February 2014 2:30am Gold
Sunday 13th April 2014 9:50am Gold
Monday 14th April 2014 6:20am Gold
Saturday 11th October 2014 8:20pm Gold
Sunday 12th October 2014 8:10am Gold
Saturday 8th November 2014 7:00pm Gold
Sunday 9th November 2014 9:05am Gold
Monday 23rd March 2015 7:00am Gold
Monday 23rd March 2015 3:20pm Gold
Wednesday 10th June 2015 4:45pm BBC2
Thursday 5th November 2015 1:55am Gold
Wednesday 16th March 2016 10:40pm Yesterday
Tuesday 2nd August 2016 10:40pm Yesterday
Wednesday 3rd August 2016 9:15pm Yesterday
Wednesday 1st February 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Wednesday 1st February 2017 9:40pm Yesterday
Sunday 19th March 2017 10:40pm Yesterday
Monday 20th March 2017 9:40pm Yesterday
Wednesday 18th October 2017 7:10am Gold
Wednesday 31st January 2018 7:30am Gold
Tuesday 4th May 2021 8:00pm BBC4

Cast & crew

Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Guest cast
John Barron Sir Ian Whitworth
Norman Bird Brian Baker
Rosemary Frankau Mrs Rogers (Chief Administrator)
Stephen Tate Billy Fraser (Union Man)
Arthur Cox Roy (Jim's Driver)
Lindy Alexander Reporter
Robert Dougall Self
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Peter Whitmore Director
Peter Whitmore Producer
Alistair McKay (as Alastair Mackay) Editor
Graham Sisson Editor
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
Tony Burrough Production Designer

Share this page