Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

BBC Two sitcom about the inner workings of government. 23 episodes (3 series), 1980 - 1984. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam.

Series 1, Episode 3 - The Economy Drive

Fired up by the press, Hacker decides to impose cuts on the Civil Service. Sir Humphrey is appalled and sets out to stop him, calling on some old service tricks to manipulate Jim's stance...

Broadcast details

Monday 10th March 1980
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Diana Hoddinott Annie Hacker
Neil Fitzwilliam Frank Weisel
Guest cast
John Savident Sir 'Jumbo' Frederick
Milton Johns Ron Watson (CSTAGW Union General Secretary)
Pat Keen Nelly (Cleaning Lady)
Patricia Shakesby Mandy (Secretary)
William Lawford French Embassy Doorman
Norman Tipton Photographer
Frank Tregear Reporter
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 34 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see editor, composer & production designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?