Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC
Yes Minister

Yes Minister

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Two
  • 1980 - 1984
  • 22 episodes (3 series)

Political satire in which well-meaning MP Jim Hacker has a fast introduction to the world of Whitehall and must then struggle against the Civil Service. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwiliam

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 363

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 4 - The Greasy Pole

Jim is under pressure from all sides concerning the toxic capabilities of Propanol and its potential manufacture in Merseyside. Despite Sir Humphrey's 'help', can he find a beneficial solution?

Broadcast details

Monday 16th March 1981
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 28th June 2011 8:00pm Gold
Monday 17th October 2011 10:40am Gold
Monday 17th October 2011 5:20pm Gold
Wednesday 2nd May 2012 11:40pm Gold
Friday 4th May 2012 1:30am Gold
Tuesday 28th August 2012 12:20pm Gold
Tuesday 28th August 2012 7:00pm Gold
Tuesday 15th January 2013 8:20pm Gold
Tuesday 15th January 2013 11:00pm Gold
Sunday 16th February 2014 7:40am Gold
Sunday 16th February 2014 11:00pm Gold
Wednesday 16th April 2014 9:40am Gold
Saturday 25th October 2014 7:00pm Gold
Sunday 26th October 2014 7:30am Gold
Thursday 26th March 2015 7:00am Gold
Thursday 26th March 2015 3:20pm Gold
Tuesday 21st July 2015 3:50pm BBC2
Friday 16th October 2015 2:40pm Gold
Saturday 17th October 2015 10:00am Gold
Wednesday 23rd December 2015 2:55am Gold
Wednesday 23rd March 2016 10:40pm Yesterday
Tuesday 16th August 2016 10:00pm Yesterday
Wednesday 17th August 2016 8:35pm Yesterday
Wednesday 7th September 2016 2:45pm BBC2
Tuesday 7th February 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Tuesday 7th February 2017 9:40pm Yesterday
Sunday 26th March 2017 10:40pm Yesterday
Monday 27th March 2017 3:40pm Yesterday
Monday 23rd October 2017 7:30am Gold
Monday 5th February 2018 7:30am Gold
Tuesday 1st June 2021 8:00pm BBC4
Tuesday 17th October 2023 8:30pm BBC4
Sunday 22nd October 2023 1:50am BBC4

Cast & crew

Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Guest cast
John Nettleton Sir Arnold Robinson (Cabinet Secretary)
Lindy Alexander Reporter
Brenda Blethyn Joan Littler MP
Freddie Earlle Sir Wally McFarlane (Head of BCC)
Jerome Willis Professor Henderson
Sheila Fay Woman Protester
Geoffrey Toone Lord Crichton
Maureen Stevens Lady Crichton
Robert Dougall Self
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Peter Whitmore Director
Peter Whitmore Producer
Alistair McKay (as Alastair Mackay) Editor
Sam Upton Editor
Dacre Punt Production Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page