Yes Minister. Image shows from L to R: James Hacker (Paul Eddington), Sir Humphrey Appleby (Nigel Hawthorne), Bernard Woolley (Derek Fowlds). Copyright: BBC.

Yes Minister

BBC Two sitcom about the inner workings of government. 23 episodes (3 series), 1980 - 1984. Stars Paul Eddington, Nigel Hawthorne, Derek Fowlds, Diana Hoddinott and Neil Fitzwilliam.

Series 3, Episode 5 - The Bed Of Nails

Hacker is flattered when the PM appoints him as the Government's new 'transport supremo', tasked with forging a grand, unified national transport policy. Sir Humphrey, however, is less than keen, and has a revelation to bring Jim back down to Earth with a bump.

Broadcast details

Thursday 9th December 1982
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Paul Eddington James Hacker
Nigel Hawthorne Sir Humphrey Appleby
Derek Fowlds Bernard Woolley
Guest cast
John Nettleton Sir Arnold Robinson (Cabinet Secretary)
Nigel Stock Sir Mark Spencer
David Firth Peter Martell (The Times Journalist)
Peter Dennis Piers (Undersecretary Roads Division)
Robert East Richard (Undersecretary Rail Division)
David Rose Graham (Undersecretary Air Division)
Writing team
Antony Jay Writer
Jonathan Lynn Writer
Production team
Peter Whitmore Director
Peter Whitmore Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 29 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, composer & editor credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?