British Comedy Guide

Only Fools And Horses. Image shows from L to R: Rodney (Nicholas Lyndhurst), Del (David Jason), Grandad (Lennard Pearce). Copyright: BBC.

Only Fools And Horses

BBC One sitcom about two market traders. 64 episodes (7 series), 1981 - 2003. Stars David Jason, Nicholas Lyndhurst, Buster Merryfield, Lennard Pearce and others.

Series 2, Episode 1 is repeated on Gold today at 10:40am.

Series 4, Episode 3 - Hole In One

In the middle of the worst, wettest winter in memory, all the brothers have to flog is sun-tan lotion. Things are looking grim until Uncle Albert falls down the cellar hatch at the Nag's Head: a big compensation package could set them up nicely. Unfortunately, Del's unaware of Albert's past...

Full synopsis

The Trotters have fallen on hard times, largely due to Rodney's £500 investment in sun-tan lotion during one of the worst winters ever seen.

To make things worse, the deep-fat fryer they sold to Mike, landlord of The Nag's Head, is on the blink and the tension brings Del and Rodney to boiling point. But throughout all this trouble, Uncle Albert, who Rodders blames for their bad luck, keeps telling them that something will turn up.

As Albert leaves the pub, he falls through an open cellar door, and the Trotters quickly come up with a way to get some cash - by suing the pub for compensation.

Albert's accident claim finally makes it to court, but to the brothers' shock, it appears that their Uncle has already sought 15 identical damages claims going back to 1944! Their case gets chucked out, and Albert admits he was using some parachuting tricks he learnt during the war to try and help Del and Rodney pay for Grandad's headstone.

Broadcast details

Thursday 7th March 1985
30 minutes


  1. Wednesday 29th June 2011 at 9:20pm on Gold
  2. Thursday 30th June 2011 at 5:20pm on Gold
  3. Tuesday 19th July 2011 at 2:10pm on BBC1
  4. Wednesday 7th September 2011 at 10:40pm on Gold
  5. Thursday 8th September 2011 at 7:20pm on Gold
  6. Saturday 19th November 2011 at 8:00pm on Gold
  7. Sunday 20th November 2011 at 1:40pm on Gold
  8. Tuesday 6th December 2011 at 2:10pm on BBC1
  9. Thursday 8th March 2012 at 9:20pm on Gold
  10. Friday 9th March 2012 at 3:20pm on Gold
  11. Saturday 21st April 2012 at 5:40pm on Gold
  12. Sunday 22nd April 2012 at 1:40pm on Gold
  13. Thursday 7th June 2012 at 9:00pm on Gold
  14. Friday 8th June 2012 at 7:00pm on Gold
  15. Sunday 29th July 2012 at 5:20pm on Gold
  16. Monday 30th July 2012 at 12:40pm on Gold
  17. Wednesday 19th September 2012 at 2:10pm on BBC1
  18. Sunday 23rd September 2012 at 1:00pm on Gold
  19. Tuesday 13th November 2012 at 8:20pm on Gold
  20. Wednesday 14th November 2012 at 2:20pm on Gold
  21. Tuesday 19th February 2013 at 2:15pm on BBC1
  22. Monday 18th March 2013 at 9:00pm on Gold
  23. Saturday 27th April 2013 at 7:40pm on Gold
  24. Sunday 28th April 2013 at 3:40pm on Gold
  25. Wednesday 29th May 2013 at 6:20pm on Gold
  26. Thursday 30th May 2013 at 1:40pm on Gold
  27. Tuesday 23rd July 2013 at 3:00pm on BBC1
  28. Monday 19th August 2013 at 7:20pm on Gold
  29. Tuesday 20th August 2013 at 12:10pm on Gold
  30. Tuesday 5th November 2013 at 9:00pm on Gold
  31. Wednesday 6th November 2013 at 5:20pm on Gold
  32. Wednesday 26th February 2014 at 7:40pm on Gold
  33. Thursday 27th February 2014 at 1:40pm on Gold
  34. Tuesday 22nd April 2014 at 7:20pm on Gold
  35. Wednesday 23rd April 2014 at 2:20pm on Gold
  36. Tuesday 17th June 2014 at 7:00pm on Gold
  37. Wednesday 18th June 2014 at 3:00pm on Gold
  38. Wednesday 6th August 2014 at 9:40pm on Gold
  39. Thursday 7th August 2014 at 4:40pm on Gold
  40. Wednesday 8th October 2014 at 8:00pm on Gold
  41. Thursday 9th October 2014 at 5:30pm on Gold
  42. Tuesday 30th December 2014 at 3:15pm on Gold
  43. Wednesday 31st December 2014 at 8:45am on Gold
  44. Thursday 19th March 2015 at 9:10pm on Gold
  45. Friday 20th March 2015 at 5:05pm on Gold
  46. Saturday 23rd May 2015 at 7:40pm on Gold
  47. Sunday 24th May 2015 at 12:05pm on Gold
  48. Monday 15th June 2015 at 7:00pm on Gold
  49. Tuesday 16th June 2015 at 1:20pm on Gold
  50. Thursday 13th August 2015 at 7:40pm on Gold
  51. Friday 14th August 2015 at 4:20pm on Gold
  52. Saturday 15th August 2015 at 7:45pm on Gold
  53. Sunday 16th August 2015 at 2:30pm on Gold
  54. Monday 12th October 2015 at 8:00pm on Gold
  55. Tuesday 13th October 2015 at 2:00pm on Gold
  56. Saturday 14th November 2015 at 9:20am on Gold
  57. Monday 28th December 2015 at 4:40pm on Gold
  58. Tuesday 29th December 2015 at 8:40am on Gold
  59. Thursday 28th January 2016 at 12:40pm on Gold
  60. Thursday 28th January 2016 at 9:20pm on Gold
  61. Monday 21st March 2016 at 8:40pm on Gold
  62. Tuesday 22nd March 2016 at 1:10pm on Gold
  63. Saturday 7th May 2016 at 1:40pm on Gold
  64. Sunday 8th May 2016 at 11:40am on Gold
  65. Saturday 4th June 2016 at 12:40pm on Gold
  66. Sunday 5th June 2016 at 8:45am on Gold
  67. Sunday 24th July 2016 at 11:30am on Gold
  68. Sunday 24th July 2016 at 6:00pm on Gold
  69. Tuesday 20th September 2016 at 8:40pm on Gold
  70. Wednesday 21st September 2016 at 12:40pm on Gold
  71. Saturday 15th October 2016 at 2:20pm on Gold
  72. Saturday 15th October 2016 at 7:40pm on Gold
  73. Monday 31st October 2016 at 10:50am on Gold
  74. Saturday 5th November 2016 at 4:20pm on Gold
  75. Saturday 5th November 2016 at 8:20pm on Gold
  76. Wednesday 28th December 2016 at 4:45pm on Gold
  77. Thursday 29th December 2016 at 9:20am on Gold
  78. Saturday 4th February 2017 at 6:40pm on Gold
  79. Sunday 5th February 2017 at 2:00pm on Gold
  80. Tuesday 14th March 2017 at 7:25pm on Gold
  81. Tuesday 14th March 2017 at 11:25pm on Gold
  82. Saturday 18th March 2017 at 2:20pm on Gold
  83. Sunday 19th March 2017 at 10:40am on Gold
  84. Sunday 7th May 2017 at 12:20pm on Gold
  85. Sunday 7th May 2017 at 5:40pm on Gold
  86. Sunday 4th June 2017 at 6:10pm on Gold
  87. Monday 5th June 2017 at 12:00pm on Gold
  88. Sunday 2nd July 2017 at 11:10am on Gold
  89. Sunday 2nd July 2017 at 5:35pm on Gold
  90. Sunday 6th August 2017 at 1:20pm on Gold
  91. Sunday 6th August 2017 at 7:20pm on Gold
  92. Tuesday 15th August 2017 at 2:20pm on Gold
  93. Tuesday 15th August 2017 at 7:40pm on Gold
  94. Wednesday 23rd August 2017 at 6:20pm on Gold
  95. Wednesday 23rd August 2017 at 10:20pm on Gold
  96. Wednesday 20th September 2017 at 3:55pm on Gold
  97. Wednesday 20th September 2017 at 10:10pm on Gold
  98. Thursday 21st September 2017 at 1:50pm on Gold
  99. Friday 22nd September 2017 at 12:55pm on Gold
  100. Friday 22nd September 2017 at 6:00pm on Gold
  101. Friday 26th January 2018 at 8:40pm on Gold
  102. Saturday 27th January 2018 at 1:40pm on Gold
  103. Sunday 28th January 2018 at 11:00am on Gold
  104. Sunday 25th February 2018 at 5:00pm on Gold
  105. Monday 26th February 2018 at 2:00pm on Gold
  106. Tuesday 27th February 2018 at 7:20pm on Gold
  107. Wednesday 28th February 2018 at 6:40pm on Gold

Cast & crew

Regular cast
David Jason Del
Nicholas Lyndhurst Rodney
Buster Merryfield Uncle Albert
Kenneth MacDonald Mike
Guest cast
Nula Conwell Maureen (Barmaid at Nag's Head)
Colin Jeavons Solly Attwell (Solicitor)
Dennis Ramsden Judge
Andrew Tourell Mr. Gerrard
James Woolley Mr. Fraser
Michael Roberts Cockney
Les Rawlings Court Clerk
Writing team
John Sullivan Writer
Production team
Susan Belbin Director
Ray Butt Producer
John Jarvis Editor
Chris Booth Editor
Eric Walmsley Production Designer

Share this page