British Comedy Guide

Mongrels. Image shows from L to R: Destiny, Nelson, Kali, Marion, Vince. Copyright: BBC.


BBC Three sitcom. 17 episodes (pilot + 2 series), 2010 - 2011. Stars Tony Way, Rufus Jones, Lucy Montgomery, Katy Brand, Dan Tetsell, Paul Kaye, Ruth Bratt and Felix Dexter.

Series 1

Mongrels. Marion. Copyright: BBC.

1. Nelson The Online Predator

First broadcast: Tuesday 22nd June 2010

Nelson discovers the harsh reality of interspecies dating, Marion gets himself adopted after his previous owner dies, Destiny bites her owner so she can attend dog obedience classes and Kali implicates DJ Toby Anstis in one of her evil schemes.

In-depth Guide

Mongrels. Marion. Copyright: BBC.

2. Destiny The Reluctant Sniffer Dog

First broadcast: Tuesday 29th June 2010

Destiny learns of the power of bottom-sniffing, Kali is reunited with an old partner in crime, Nelson adopts one of Vince's cubs and Marion overdoses on catnip.

In-depth Guide

Mongrels. Marion. Copyright: BBC.

3. Marion The Young Lover

First broadcast: Tuesday 6th July 2010

Springwatch comes to film on the Isle of Dogs and Nelson is horrified to discover all the animals are, in fact, actors. Destiny becomes a guide dog, Marion attempts to win love by staying alive for one more day, and Kali reveals she used to nest in Amy Winehouse's hair.

In-depth Guide

Mongrels. Destiny. Copyright: BBC.

4. Nelson The Stroke Virgin

First broadcast: Tuesday 13th July 2010

Destiny enjoys a taste of life in the limelight after being awarded Animal of Courage 2010, but it is Marion who is the real hero. Nelson tries to be stroked by a human and Kali develops a crush on a crow that turns out to be female.

In-depth Guide

Mongrels. Nelson. Copyright: BBC.

5. Kali The Genetic Engineer

First broadcast: Tuesday 20th July 2010

Nelson's French penfriend Christian arrives for a visit, but brings rabies with him. Destiny discovers that her new boyfriend is a pimp organised by her owner Gary to get her to produce pups. When Kali is caught up in a pigeon cull, she resolves to take revenge on humankind.

In-depth Guide

Mongrels. Kali. Copyright: BBC.

6. Destiny The Infection Risk

First broadcast: Tuesday 27th July 2010

Nelson falls in love with Sandra, a mangy, flea-ridden fox whom he meets at the rubbish tip while rescuing Marion. Gary angers Kali after he erects anti-pigeon spikes on the pub walls, but Destiny is overjoyed when he enters her into a competition.

In-depth Guide

Mongrels. Nelson. Copyright: BBC.

7. Marion The Superfluous Feed Character

First broadcast: Tuesday 3rd August 2010

Nelson organises a rooftop picnic to celebrate Vince's birthday, but things go badly wrong when an accident with a party popper puts Vince in a coma. Meanwhile, Destiny tries dating a bossy sheepdog and Kali plots her revenge on Harry Hill after seeing her mum getting electrocuted on You've Been Framed.

In-depth Guide

Mongrels. Marion. Copyright: BBC.

8. Nelson The Naughty Arsonist

First broadcast: Tuesday 10th August 2010

It's the worst time of the year for the animals - Bonfire Night (aka 5/11). After failing in his job last year as a fire warden, Nelson faces an angry mob led by Marion demanding an end to the event for good. Kali has her wings clipped and discovers she is suddenly an easy meal for Vince. Destiny decides to pursue a modelling career.

In-depth Guide

Series 1 Products

Share this page