Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Gemma Whelan, Ryan Sampson, Tom Stourton
Horrible Histories

Horrible Histories

  • TV sketch show
  • CBBC / BBC One
  • 2009 - 2024
  • 139 episodes (10 series)

Hit sketch show based on surprising facts from world history, inspired by the hit children's book series. Stars Jim Howick, Simon Farnaby, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton, Martha Howe-Douglas and more.

Episode menu

Series 8 - Mayflower Malarkey

Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Jalaal Hartley, Jessica Ransom, Tom Stourton, Harrie Hayes, Rachel Cash, Emily Lloyd Saini
The Puritans set sail, Queen Elizabeth I loses a colony, and the Founding Fathers sing!


This is noted in some places as being the 12th episode of Series 8, however it was the 14th broadcast under the series banner, and aired more than a year after the series proper concluded.

Broadcast details

Monday 14th September 2020
30 minutes


  1. Tuesday 25th June 2024 at 8:35am on CBBC

Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 14th September 2020 6:45pm CBBC
Wednesday 16th September 2020 9:40am CBBC
Wednesday 16th September 2020 7:05pm CBBC
Saturday 26th September 2020 8:30am CBBC
Sunday 27th September 2020 11:15am CBBC
Tuesday 3rd November 2020 10:00am CBBC
Monday 11th January 2021 6:35pm CBBC
Tuesday 2nd March 2021 6:35pm CBBC
Saturday 20th March 2021 1:45pm CBBC
Saturday 20th March 2021 5:35pm CBBC
Wednesday 24th March 2021 1:55pm CBBC
Friday 4th June 2021 11:05am CBBC
Friday 6th August 2021 10:05am CBBC
Tuesday 21st September 2021 10:25am CBBC
Wednesday 27th October 2021 10:05am CBBC
Sunday 21st November 2021 6:10pm CBBC
Tuesday 30th November 2021 6:25pm CBBC
Friday 17th December 2021 9:55am CBBC
Sunday 23rd January 2022 1:10pm CBBC
Saturday 29th January 2022 1:45pm CBBC
Tuesday 15th February 2022 10:35am CBBC
Wednesday 30th March 2022 8:25am CBBC
Friday 1st April 2022 10:30am CBBC

Cast & crew

Tom Stourton Various
Jalaal Hartley Various
Jessica Ransom Various
Richard David-Caine Various
Gemma Whelan Various
Michael Abubakar Various
Harrie Hayes Various
Emily Lloyd-Saini Various
James McNicholas Various
Jon Culshaw Various (Voice)
Mike Wozniak Ensemble Actor
John Eccleston Rattus Rattus
Guest cast
Rachel Cash Ensemble Actor
Writing team
Ben Ward Writer
Dave Cohen Writer
Lucy Clarke Writer
Daniel Peak Writer
Howard Read Script Editor
Claire Wetton Script Editor
Gabby Hutchinson Crouch Writer
Max Olesker Writer
Production team
Steve Connelly Director
Adam Jenkins Director
Jack Cheshire Series Editor
Lisa Mitchell Series Producer
Matt Lamont Producer
Melissa Hardinge Executive Producer
Richard Bradley Executive Producer
Simon Welton Executive Producer
Elaine Campbell Line Producer
Adam Windmill Editor
Will Peverett Editor
Will Porter Editor
Jo Sutherland Production Designer
Tracey Gillham Casting Director
Jeremy Hewson Director of Photography
Jacqueline Mills Costume Designer
Siobhán Harper-Ryan Make-up Designer
Richie Webb Composer
Matthew Hanson 1st Assistant Director

Share this page