Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Gemma Whelan, Ryan Sampson, Tom Stourton
Horrible Histories

Horrible Histories

  • TV sketch show
  • CBBC / BBC One
  • 2009 - 2024
  • 139 episodes (10 series)

Hit sketch show based on surprising facts from world history, inspired by the hit children's book series. Stars Jim Howick, Simon Farnaby, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton, Martha Howe-Douglas and more.

Episode menu

Series 8, Episode 8 - Putrid Politics

Dani Dyer becomes Rattus's political advisor for tales of parliamentary people and plots.

Broadcast details

Monday 22nd July 2019
30 minutes


  1. Wednesday 19th June 2024 at 8:35am on CBBC

Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 22nd July 2019 7:30pm CBBC
Wednesday 24th July 2019 7:00pm CBBC
Friday 26th July 2019 1:40pm CBBC
Saturday 27th July 2019 9:30am CBBC
Wednesday 30th October 2019 2:15pm CBBC
Sunday 3rd November 2019 2:55pm CBBC
Tuesday 3rd December 2019 1:15pm CBBC
Sunday 9th February 2020 11:35am CBBC
Wednesday 12th February 2020 7:10pm CBBC
Saturday 28th March 2020 5:05pm CBBC
Wednesday 1st April 2020 9:25am CBBC
Saturday 4th April 2020 8:30pm CBBC
Thursday 7th May 2020 7:05pm CBBC
Sunday 10th May 2020 3:00pm CBBC
Wednesday 10th June 2020 9:55am CBBC
Tuesday 28th July 2020 6:50pm CBBC
Friday 14th August 2020 2:05pm CBBC
Sunday 16th August 2020 11:20am CBBC
Saturday 5th September 2020 8:30am CBBC
Thursday 10th September 2020 9:40am CBBC
Saturday 26th September 2020 5:00pm CBBC
Thursday 22nd October 2020 9:40am CBBC
Wednesday 6th January 2021 6:35pm CBBC
Saturday 9th January 2021 12:20pm CBBC
Saturday 9th January 2021 4:50pm CBBC
Wednesday 24th February 2021 6:35pm CBBC
Friday 19th March 2021 1:55pm CBBC
Sunday 4th April 2021 11:10am CBBC
Monday 2nd August 2021 10:40am CBBC
Wednesday 15th September 2021 10:35am CBBC
Sunday 24th October 2021 6:35pm CBBC
Sunday 7th November 2021 1:00pm CBBC
Tuesday 23rd November 2021 6:30pm CBBC
Wednesday 15th December 2021 9:50am CBBC
Thursday 3rd February 2022 10:30am CBBC
Monday 7th February 2022 10:30am CBBC
Thursday 24th March 2022 8:25am CBBC
Tuesday 29th March 2022 10:30am CBBC

Cast & crew

Tom Stourton Various
Jalaal Hartley Various
Jessica Ransom Various
Richard David-Caine Various
Michael Abubakar Various
Harrie Hayes Various
Emily Lloyd-Saini Various
James McNicholas Various
Jon Culshaw Various (Voice)
Ellie White Ensemble Actor
Mike Wozniak Ensemble Actor
John Eccleston Rattus Rattus
Guest cast
Phil Wang Various
Dani Dyer Self
Danielle Vitalis Ensemble Actor
Mabel Read Ensemble Actor
Samson Read Ensemble Actor
Writing team
Ben Ward Writer
Dave Cohen Writer
Lucy Clarke Writer
Steve Punt Writer
Howard Read Writer
Claire Wetton Script Editor
Jane McCutcheon Writer
Max Davis (as Max Davies) Writer
James Kettle Writer
Vivienne Riddoch Writer
Production team
Steve Connelly Director
Jack Cheshire Series Editor
Lisa Mitchell Series Producer
Matt Lamont Producer
Melissa Hardinge Executive Producer
Richard Bradley Executive Producer
Simon Welton Executive Producer
Elaine Campbell Line Producer
Adam Windmill Editor
Will Peverett Editor
Will Porter Editor
Jo Sutherland Production Designer
Tracey Gillham Casting Director
Jeremy Hewson Director of Photography
Jacqueline Mills Costume Designer
Siobhán Harper-Ryan Make-up Designer
Richie Webb Composer
Matthew Hanson 1st Assistant Director

Share this page