Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Gemma Whelan, Ryan Sampson, Tom Stourton.

Horrible Histories

CBBC and BBC One sketch show based on historical fact. 105 episodes (8 series), 2009 - 2019. Stars Jim Howick, Simon Farnaby, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton and others.

Series 4, Episode 4 is repeated tomorrow at 7pm.

Horrible Christmas

Farting jesters, Christmas cards full of bacon, and having the festive meal confiscated by Oliver Cromwell... welcome to Christmas, Horrible Histories style.

Further details

Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Martha Howe-Douglas, Mathew Baynton, Jim Howick, Ben Willbond. Copyright: Lion Television / Citrus Television.

Christmas is a time for charity, hope, and goodwill to all men... or if it's the Horrible Histories Christmas Special it's a time for farting jesters, Christmas cards full of bacon, and having the festive meal confiscated by Oliver Cromwell.

This one-off Christmas Special dives headlong into showcasing bizarre Yuletide absurdities over the centuries with the programme's unique blend of sketches, pastiches and song.

Find out how William the Conqueror was crowned on Christmas Day 1066, but when the congregation cheered his soldiers thought it was a riot and burned down Westminster Abbey.

Gasp at the tale of King Henry II's famous medieval jester, Roland the Farter, the man whose sole job was to fart on Christmas Day.

And learn how Victorian Christmas cards could be really weird. Some included a slice of bacon, an extracted tooth, a luggage label or even a dead mouse.

Horrible Histories Christmas Special reveals all this and more in a foul festive treat - the smelliest, silliest, goriest stories about everyone's favourite time of year.

Broadcast details

Friday 17th December 2010
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Jim Howick Various
    Simon Farnaby Various
    Ben Willbond Various
    Mathew Baynton Various
    Martha Howe-Douglas Various
    Laurence Rickard Various
    Alice Lowe Ensemble Actor
    Lawry Lewin Ensemble Actor
    John Eccleston Rattus Rattus
    Guest cast
    David Baddiel Vincenzo Larfoff
    Writing team
    Jon Holmes Writer
    Lucy Clarke Writer
    Laurence Rickard Writer
    Gerard Foster Writer
    Giles Pilbrow Writer
    Production team
    Steve Connelly Director
    Dominic Brigstocke Director
    Chloe Thomas Director
    Caroline Norris Series Producer
    Giles Pilbrow Producer
    Imogen Cooper Producer
    Richard Bradley Executive Producer
    Alison Gregory Executive Producer
    Nigel Williams Editor
    Mike Holliday Editor
    Miranda Jones Production Designer
    Richie Webb Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 33 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?