Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Gemma Whelan, Ryan Sampson, Tom Stourton
Horrible Histories

Horrible Histories

  • TV sketch show
  • CBBC / BBC One
  • 2009 - 2021
  • 122 episodes (9 series)

Hit sketch show based on surprising facts from world history, inspired by the hit children's book series. Stars Jim Howick, Simon Farnaby, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton, Martha Howe-Douglas and more.

Key cast & crew credits

Jim Howick Various (Series 1-6)
Simon Farnaby Various (Series 1-6)
Ben Willbond Various (Series 1-5)
Mathew Baynton Various (Series 1-5)
Martha Howe-Douglas Various (Series 1-5)
Laurence Rickard Various (Series 1-5)
Sarah Hadland Various (Series 1-2 & 4-5)
Tom Stourton Various (Series 6-9)
Adam Riches Various (Series 6)
Naz Osmanoglu Various (Series 6)
Jalaal Hartley Various (Series 6-8)
Jessica Ransom Various (Series 6-9)
Natalie Walter Various (Series 6)
Mark Gatiss Movie Executive (Series 4-5)
Steve Pemberton Movie Executive (Series 4-5)
Reece Shearsmith Movie Executive (Series 4-5)
Richard David-Caine Various (Series 7-9)
Gemma Whelan Various (Series 7-9)
Ryan Sampson Various (Series 7)
Michael Abubakar Various (Series 8)
Harrie Hayes Various (Series 8)
Emily Lloyd Saini Various (Series 8)
James McNicholas Various (Series 8-9)
Jon Culshaw Various (Voice) (Series 1-8)
Jess Robinson Various (Voice) (Series 1-6)
Meera Syal Self (Series 1)
Katherine Jakeways Ensemble Actor (Series 4-7)
Jessica Ransom Ensemble Actor (Series 4)
Jalaal Hartley Ensemble Actor (Series 4)
Louise Ford Ensemble Actor (Series 6-7)
Alice Lowe Ensemble Actor (Series 2-3 & 5)
Rhashan Stone Ensemble Actor (Series 3-4)
Giles Terera Ensemble Actor (Series 1-6)
Katy Wix Ensemble Actor (Series 1-4)
Lawry Lewin Ensemble Actor (Series 2-6)
Dominique Moore Ensemble Actor (Series 2-6)
Lisa Devlin Ensemble Actor (Series 1)
Javone Prince Ensemble Actor (Series 1)
Lolly Adefope Ensemble Actor (Series 7)
Samson Kayo Ensemble Actor (Series 7)
Tom Palmer Ensemble Actor (Series 7)
James McNicholas Ensemble Actor (Series 1 & 7)
Ellie White Ensemble Actor (Series 7-8)
Mike Wozniak Ensemble Actor (Series 8)
John Eccleston Rattus Rattus (Series 1-8)
Writing team
George Sawyer Writer (Series 1-4 & 6-8)
Mathew Baynton Writer (Series 2)
Colin Swash Writer (Series 2-4)
Howard Read Writer (Series 5-9)
Benjamin Partridge Writer (Series 6-7)
Daniel Peak Writer (Series 6-8)
Justin Edwards Writer (Series 6)
Steve Punt Writer (Series 1-8)
Jon Holmes Writer (Series 1-3)
Lucy Clarke Writer (Series 1-2 & 5-8)
Dave Cohen Writer
Ben Ward Writer
Greg Jenner Writer (Series 1-3 & 5-6)
Laurence Rickard Writer (Series 1-5)
Gerard Foster Writer (Series 2-7)
Giles Pilbrow Writer (Series 2-5)
Paul Davighi Writer (Series 7)
Jane McCutcheon Writer (Series 8)
Dan Maier (as Daniel Maier) Writer (Additional Material) (Series 6)
Dan Maier Writer (Additional Material) (Series 7)
Christine Rose Writer (Additional Material) (Series 7)
Martin Trenaman Writer (Additional Material) (Series 7)
Ben Ward Script Editor (Series 6-7)
George Sawyer Script Editor (Series 6)
Daniel Peak Script Editor (Series 7)
Howard Read Script Editor (Series 7-8)
Claire Wetton Script Editor (Series 8)
Production team
Simon Gibney Director (Series 6)
Ian Curtis Director (Series 6-7)
Steve Connelly Director (Series 1-5 & 7-8)
Dominic Brigstocke Director (Series 2-5)
Chloe Thomas Director (Series 1 & 4)
Matt Holt Director (Series 9)
Adam Jenkins 1st Assistant Director (Series 7)
Matthew Hanson 1st Assistant Director (Series 8)
Craig Topham 1st Assistant Director (Series 9)
David Staite Series Editor (Series 7)
Jack Cheshire Series Editor (Series 8)
Simon Wilson Series Editor (Series 9)
Tom Miller Series Producer (Series 6-7)
Caroline Norris Series Producer (Series 1-5)
Lisa Mitchell Series Producer (Series 8-9)
Giles Pilbrow Producer (Series 1-5)
Imogen Cooper Producer (Series 3-5)
Dominic Brigstocke Producer (Series 1)
Lisa Mitchell Producer (Series 7)
Matt Lamont Producer (Series 8)
Melissa Hardinge Executive Producer (Series 4-9)
Bill Hobbins Executive Producer (Series 6)
Richard Bradley Executive Producer
Alison Gregory Executive Producer (Series 2-4)
Kim Shillinglaw Executive Producer (Series 1)
Simon Welton Executive Producer (Series 7-9)
Elaine Campbell Line Producer (Series 7-9)
Peter Oliver Editor (Series 5)
Adam Windmill Editor (Series 6-8)
Nigel Williams Editor (Series 2-4)
Mike Holliday Editor (Series 2-5)
Will Peverett Editor (Series 2 & 4 & 6 & 8)
Charlie Fawcett Editor (Series 1)
Michelle Turkington Editor (Series 1)
Will Porter Editor (Series 7-8)
Jim Hampton Editor (Series 9)
Miranda Jones Production Designer (Series 1-6)
Antony Cartlidge (as Anthony Cartlidge) Production Designer (Series 7)
Jo Sutherland Production Designer (Series 8)
Rosy Thomas Production Designer (Series 9)
Tracey Gillham Casting Director (Series 7-8)
Kharmel Cochrane Casting Director (Series 9)
Pete Rowe Director of Photography (Series 7)
Jeremy Hewson Director of Photography (Series 7-9)
Jacqueline Mills Costume Designer (Series 8)
Marlene Lawlor Costume Designer (Series 9)
Vicky Voller Make-up Designer (Series 7)
Siobhán Harper-Ryan Make-up Designer (Series 8)
Sallie Adams Make-up Designer (Series 9)
Richie Webb Composer
Matt Katz Composer (Series 1)
Tim Searle Animation (Series 6)
Rob Fellows Graphics (Series 9)
Terry Deary Creator (Series 1-7)
Cheryl Taylor Commissioner (Series 6-7)

Share this page