Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Gemma Whelan, Ryan Sampson, Tom Stourton.

Horrible Histories

CBBC and BBC One sketch show based on historical fact. 105 episodes (8 series), 2009 - 2019. Stars Jim Howick, Simon Farnaby, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton and others.

Next new episode is today at 5:30pm. Series 8, Special
Series 2, Episode 4 is repeated today at 7pm.

Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Tom Stourton, Dan Li, Ryan Sampson, Samson Kayo.

Series 7 - Savage Songs Special

Rattus attempts to put together his own festival (the delightfully named Glastonsmelly).

Further details

Horrible Histories presents a collection of some of history's finest songs, as Rattus attempts to put together his own festival (the delightfully named Glastonsmelly). From singing poos to tuneful Warlords, there's something for all musical tastes and Rattus has somehow also roped Brad from The Vamps in to help him out, although rather than playing live on the main stage, Brad's role seems to be more about unblocking the toilets just behind it.

Broadcast details

Monday 7th May 2018
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Tom Stourton Various
    Jalaal Hartley Various
    Jessica Ransom Various
    Richard David-Caine Various
    Gemma Whelan Various
    Ryan Sampson Various
    Jon Culshaw Various (Voice)
    Lolly Adefope Ensemble Actor
    Samson Kayo Ensemble Actor
    Tom Palmer Ensemble Actor
    James McNicholas Ensemble Actor
    Ellie White Ensemble Actor
    John Eccleston Rattus Rattus
    Guest cast
    Sanjeev Bhaskar Greek
    Bradley Simpson (as Brad Simpson) Self
    Dan Li Ensemble Actor
    Writing team
    Daniel Peak Writer
    Dave Cohen Writer
    Ben Ward Writer
    George Sawyer Writer (Additional Material)
    Production team
    Ian Curtis Director
    Steve Connelly Director
    Adam Jenkins 1st Assistant Director
    David Staite Series Editor
    Tom Miller Series Producer
    Lisa Mitchell Producer
    Melissa Hardinge Executive Producer
    Richard Bradley Executive Producer
    Simon Welton Executive Producer
    Elaine Campbell Line Producer
    Adam Windmill Editor
    Will Porter Editor
    Antony Cartlidge (as Anthony Cartlidge) Production Designer
    Tracey Gillham Casting Director
    Pete Rowe Director of Photography
    Ros Little Costume Designer
    Jeremy Hewson Director of Photography
    Vicky Voller Make-up Designer
    Richie Webb Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 12 past repeats of this episode
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see 1st assistant director, director of photography, make-up designer, casting director, costume designer & line producer credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?