The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year. Jimmy Carr
The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year

The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year

  • TV panel show
  • Channel 4
  • 2004 - 2021
  • 26 episodes

Channel 4's annual topical end-of-year panel show. Hosted by Jimmy Carr and featuring a host of well-known comedians as panellists. Also features Rob Brydon, Jonathan Ross, David Mitchell, Russell Brand, Noel Fielding and more.

Episode menu

The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year 2016

The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year. Image shows from L to R: Rob Delaney, Richard Ayoade
2016 might have been one of the craziest news years in memory, but don't panic - The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year is back to help you make sense of it!

Preview clips

Further details

Quizmaster Jimmy Carr tests another panel of A-list comics in weird and wonderful ways to see how closely they were paying attention for the last 12 months. Answering the questions are Richard Ayoade, Rob Delaney, Mel Giedroyc, Sarah Millican, David Mitchell and Romesh Ranganathan.

Plus Jon Snow, Charles Dance, the children of Mitchell Brook Primary School, a host of celebrity question-setters and some surprise guests as they take in everything from the US election to Boaty McBoatface.

Broadcast details

Monday 26th December 2016
Channel 4
120 minutes
  • Monday 5th December 2016, 18:40 at The London Studios


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 27th December 2016 9:00pm 4seven
Wednesday 28th December 2016 11:00pm C4
Friday 30th December 2016 10:35pm 4seven
Sunday 1st January 2017 12:35am C4
Monday 2nd January 2017 11:35pm 4seven
Saturday 7th January 2017 10:00pm More4

Cast & crew

Jimmy Carr Host / Presenter
David Mitchell Guest
Richard Ayoade Guest
Jon Snow Self
Charles Dance Self
Guest cast
Sarah Millican Guest
Rob Delaney Guest
Mel Giedroyc Guest
Romesh Ranganathan Guest
Professor Green Self
Bryan Cranston Self
James Franco Self
Bradley Simpson Self
Connor Ball Self
James McVey Self
Tristan Evans Self
Sadiq Khan Self
Zach Filkins Self
Ryan Tedder Self
Mark-Francis Vandelli Self
Miranda Hart Self
Zac Alsop Self
Gemma Chan Self
Pamela Anderson Self
Michelle Keegan Self
Rick Astley Self
Writing team
Jimmy Carr Writer (Additional Material)
Shaun Pye Writer (Additional Material)
Christine Rose Writer (Additional Material)
James Farmer Writer (Additional Material)
Jesse James Writer (Additional Material)
Bryan Olsen Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Mick Thomas Director
Jonathan Ross Executive Producer
Jane Goldman Executive Producer
Matt Nida Series Producer
Juliet Redden Producer
Del Shoebridge Editor
Richard Drew Production Designer
Pete Baikie (as Peter Baikie) Composer
Deborah Cantor Costume Designer
Marcia Stanton Costume Designer
Sara Riesel Costume Designer
Chris Kempton Lighting Designer


Mannequin Challenge with Pamela Anderson

Jimmy Carr gets a kiss from Pamela Anderson during a special mannequin challenge.

Featuring: Jimmy Carr & David Mitchell.


With a flittering light finally in sight at the end of the slime-slathered tunnel that was 2016, Jimmy Carr returns to help roast a year that left us all feeling burned. Richard Ayoade, Rob Delaney, Mel Giedroyc, Sarah Millican, David Mitchell and Romesh Ranganathan make up this year's teams, with Jon Snow, Charles Dance and a roster of celebrity inquisitors on hand to posit questions on everything from Boaty McBoatface to Brexit.

Mark Gibbings-Jones, The Guardian, 26th December 2016

Share this page