BBC New Comedy Award. Copyright: BBC
BBC New Comedy Award

BBC New Comedy Award

  • Radio stand-up
  • BBC Radio 4 Extra / BBC Radio 2 / BBC Radio 4
  • 2011 - 2019
  • 75 episodes (9 series)

The BBC's nationwide search to find the best in new stand-up comedy talent. Stars Mark Watson and Patrick Kielty.

Episode menu

2018, Episode 8 - Grand Final

The successful comedians from the semi-finals go through to the final, broadcast live from the BBC tent in Edinburgh.

Further details

Host Mark Watson will be joined by an expert panel of judges comprised of stalwarts of the comedy world, including Sioned Wiliam, Commissioning Editor for Comedy on Radio 4, as five of the UK's most exciting new comedy acts compete for the coveted title.

The finalists are Mamoun Elagab, Isa Bonachera, Stephen Buchanan, Helen Bauer, William Stone and Sarah Mann.

The final also features a set from 2014 BBC New Comedy Award winner Lost Voice Guy, aka Lee Ridley.

The winner of this year's competition will take home £1,000 and a 15-minute script commission from BBC Studios.


Broadcast in two parts, from 6:15pm to 7pm, and 7:15pm to 7:45pm.

Broadcast details

Sunday 12th August 2018
BBC Radio 4
75 minutes
  • Sunday 12th August 2018, 17:15 at BBC Edinburgh Fringe venue

Cast & crew

Mark Watson Host / Presenter
Guest cast
Mark Steel Guest
Rachel Parris Guest
Sioned Wiliam Guest
Lee Ridley (as Lost Voice Guy) Self
Helen Bauer Self
Isa Bonachera Self
William Stone Self
Mamoun Elagab Self
Stephen Buchanan Self
Sarah Mann Self
Production team
Lyndsay Fenner Producer


BBC New Comedy Award final 2018 review

Mark Watson's an old hand at hosting the BBC New Comedy Award final now, and even he's anxious, more so than his usual shtick.

Steve Bennett, Chortle, 13th August 2018

Share this page