The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar)
The Indian Doctor

The Indian Doctor

  • TV comedy drama
  • BBC One / BBC One Wales
  • 2010 - 2013
  • 18 episodes (3 series)

Period comedy drama starring Sanjeev Bhaskar as an Indian doctor who finds work in a South Wales mining village in the 1960s. Stars Sanjeev Bhaskar, Matthew Aubrey, Sion Pritchard, Ceri Murphy, Ayesha Dharker and more.

Episode menu

Series 3 (BBC One Daytime), Episode 4 - Trapped

Prem, Emlyn and Owen fight for survival and Kamini finally finds a role for herself.

Further details

At the mine Prem, Emlyn and Owen are trapped deep underground following an unexplained accident. Meanwhile, an unknowing Kamini is left to deal with the patients in the surgery and an AWOL Dan.

Basil's continuing drive for new home buyers is reaping great results and even has Ceri seeking his advice on how to deal with Sian, while Robert takes advantage of Emlyn's absence by taking Megan out for a sentimental journey.

Below ground, the trapped men each battle with their demons as their situation takes an even more serious turn until they are left with an impossible choice.

Broadcast details

Thursday 7th November 2013
45 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 23rd February 2014 2:15pm BBC1
Sunday 1st March 2015 1:30am Drama
Sunday 1st March 2015 7:00pm Drama
Tuesday 26th January 2016 9:00am Drama
Tuesday 26th January 2016 4:00pm Drama
Tuesday 16th February 2016 9:00am Drama
Tuesday 16th February 2016 4:00pm Drama
Wednesday 17th February 2016 2:00am Drama
Friday 15th April 2016 2:25pm BBC2
Friday 19th August 2016 2:00am Drama
Thursday 15th October 2020 1:45pm BBC1

Cast & crew

Sanjeev Bhaskar Dr. Prem Sharma
Matthew Aubrey Aled Williams
Sion Pritchard Daf Thomas
Ceri Murphy Graham
Ayesha Dharker Kamini Sharma
Mali Harries Megan Evans
Ifan Huw Dafydd Owen Griffiths
Jacob Oakley Dan Griffiths
Erica Eirian Sian Davies
Dafydd Hywel Ceri Joseff
Alun Ap Brinley PC Emlyn Dawkins
William Houston Basil Thomas
Rhydian Jones Robert Thomas
Guest cast
Christine Pritchard Mrs Daniels
Gwawr Loader Julie
Gareth Bale Maintenance Engineer
Writing team
Catrin Clarke Writer
Production team
Lee Haven Jones Director
Eryl Huw Phillips Producer
Tom Ware Executive Producer
Deep Sehgal Executive Producer
Gerard Melling Executive Producer
John Gillanders Editor
Venita Gribble Production Designer
Barnaby Taylor Composer

Share this page