The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar)
The Indian Doctor

The Indian Doctor

  • TV comedy drama
  • BBC One / BBC One Wales
  • 2010 - 2013
  • 18 episodes (3 series)

Period comedy drama starring Sanjeev Bhaskar as an Indian doctor who finds work in a South Wales mining village in the 1960s. Stars Sanjeev Bhaskar, Matthew Aubrey, Sion Pritchard, Ceri Murphy, Ayesha Dharker and more.

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 4,989

Episode menu

Series 3 (BBC One Daytime), Episode 1 - The Prodigals Return

It is now 1966, three years after Prem and Kamini's arrival, and they have become very much a part of the Trefelin community.

Further details

A shiny American sports car zooms into the sleepy Valleys village of Trefelin, carrying with it Basil and Robert Thomas, sons of the old local mine owner.

The high-achieving brothers are greeted with joy by everyone from Sian the shopkeeper to the miners in the pub. But for others, like the Indian doctor Prem Sharma, his wife Kamini and newlyweds Emlyn and Megan, the brothers' return spells confusion and frustration as their dreams are dashed and they face the prospect of becoming outcasts once again.

Broadcast details

Monday 4th November 2013
45 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 2nd February 2014 11:00am BBC1 Scot
Sunday 2nd February 2014 1:45pm BBC1
Sunday 8th February 2015 7:00pm Drama
Thursday 21st January 2016 9:00am Drama
Thursday 21st January 2016 4:00pm Drama
Thursday 11th February 2016 9:00am Drama
Thursday 11th February 2016 4:00pm Drama
Friday 12th February 2016 1:00am Drama
Tuesday 12th April 2016 3:10pm BBC2
Tuesday 16th August 2016 1:40am Drama
Wednesday 7th September 2016 2:20am Drama
Monday 26th September 2016 3:05am Drama
Monday 12th October 2020 1:45pm BBC1

Cast & crew

Sanjeev Bhaskar Dr. Prem Sharma
Matthew Aubrey Aled Williams
Sion Pritchard Daf Thomas
Ceri Murphy Graham
Ayesha Dharker Kamini Sharma
Mali Harries Megan Evans
Ifan Huw Dafydd Owen Griffiths
Jacob Oakley Dan Griffiths
Erica Eirian Sian Davies
Dafydd Hywel Ceri Joseff
Alun Ap Brinley PC Emlyn Dawkins
William Houston Basil Thomas
Rhydian Jones Robert Thomas
Guest cast
Clare Hingott Beryl
Eiry Thomas Mrs Williams
Catrin Aaron Germ Lady (Mrs Germin)
Christine Pritchard Mrs Daniels
Writing team
Catrin Clarke Writer
Production team
Lee Haven Jones Director
Eryl Huw Phillips Producer
Tom Ware Executive Producer
Deep Sehgal Executive Producer
Gerard Melling Executive Producer
John Gillanders Editor
Venita Gribble Production Designer
Barnaby Taylor Composer

Share this page