The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar). Copyright: Rondo / Avatar.

The Indian Doctor

BBC One and BBC One Wales comedy drama. 15 episodes (3 series), 2010 - 2013. Stars Sanjeev Bhaskar, Matthew Aubrey, Sion Pritchard, Ceri Murphy, Ayesha Dharker, Mali Harries, Ifan Huw Dafydd and others.

Series 1, Episode 5 - The Fete

The South Welsh mining village of Trefelin is preparing for the annual summer fete.

Further details

The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar). Copyright: Rondo / Avatar.

A lot is going on behind the scenes as the fete preparations continue. Prem Sharma is preparing to leave the village and Kamini, his wife, goes in search of Dan, who is missing, but finds more than she bargained for.

Megan pleads with Prem to stay and help the miners fight for justice and for their health. Meanwhile, Sharpe finally gets the promotion he's been chasing.

Matters come to a head as Prem takes on Sharpe once and for all in front of the whole village at the annual summer fete...

Broadcast details

Friday 19th November 2010
45 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Sanjeev Bhaskar Dr. Prem Sharma
    Ayesha Dharker Kamini Sharma
    Mali Harries Megan Evans
    Ifan Huw Dafydd Owen Griffiths
    Jacob Oakley Dan Griffiths
    Erica Eirian Sian Davies
    Dafydd Hywel Ceri Joseff
    Alun Ap Brinley PC Emlyn Dawkins
    Naomi Everson Gina Nicolli
    Mark Williams Richard Sharpe
    Beth Robert Sylvia Sharpe
    Alexander Vlahos Tom Evans
    Gareth Bale Alun
    Lee Mengo Bryn
    Guest cast
    John Weldon Dafydd Lewis
    Writing team
    Bill Armstrong Writer
    Production team
    Tim Whitby Director
    Tom Ware Executive Producer
    Deep Sehgal Executive Producer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 14 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?