The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar)
The Indian Doctor

The Indian Doctor

  • TV comedy drama
  • BBC One / BBC One Wales
  • 2010 - 2013
  • 18 episodes (3 series)

Period comedy drama starring Sanjeev Bhaskar as an Indian doctor who finds work in a South Wales mining village in the 1960s. Stars Sanjeev Bhaskar, Matthew Aubrey, Sion Pritchard, Ceri Murphy, Ayesha Dharker and more.

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 4,882

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 2 - Immunity

Dr Prem Sharma finds himself under pressure to track down and save Dan before it is too late.

Further details

Dr Prem Sharma finds himself under pressure to track down and save Dan before it is too late. Facing the threat of an epidemic, Prem has to battle both the ineptitude of the health authorities and the ignorance of locals. When Trefelin's evangelist minister, Herbert Todd, refuses to be vaccinated and openly defies Prem's attempts to contain the virus, the conflict between them threatens to divide the village. While Prem and Todd battle for the hearts and minds of the villagers, Sergeant Emlyn Dawkins has been up all night composing a love letter to the unsuspecting Megan. How will she react when the previously tongue-tied copper puts his innermost thoughts down on paper?

Broadcast details

Tuesday 28th February 2012
45 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 14th March 2012 10:45pm BBC1 Wales
Tuesday 19th June 2012 5:15pm BBC HD
Sunday 26th August 2012 5:20pm BBC1
Sunday 11th January 2015 12:30am Drama
Sunday 11th January 2015 7:00pm Drama
Friday 15th January 2016 9:00am Drama
Friday 15th January 2016 4:00pm Drama
Friday 5th February 2016 9:00am Drama
Friday 5th February 2016 4:00pm Drama
Saturday 6th February 2016 1:40am Drama
Wednesday 6th April 2016 3:40pm BBC2
Wednesday 10th August 2016 1:40am Drama
Thursday 1st September 2016 2:20am Drama
Monday 19th September 2016 7:10am Drama
Tuesday 6th October 2020 1:45pm BBC1

Cast & crew

Sanjeev Bhaskar Dr. Prem Sharma
Ayesha Dharker Kamini Sharma
Mali Harries Megan Evans
Ifan Huw Dafydd Owen Griffiths
Jacob Oakley Dan Griffiths
Erica Eirian Sian Davies
Alun Ap Brinley PC Emlyn Dawkins
Naomi Everson Gina Nicolli
Mark Heap Herbert Todd
Naomi Battrick Verity Todd
Indira Joshi Pushpa Bakshi
Guest cast
Clare Hingott Beryl
Ben McGregor Rhys
Jams Thomas Wyn
Writing team
Nicholas Martin Writer
Production team
Gwennan Sage Director
Eryl Huw Phillips Producer
Tom Ware Executive Producer
Deep Sehgal Executive Producer
Gerard Melling Executive Producer
William Oswald Editor
Venita Gribble Production Designer
Barnaby Taylor Composer

Share this page