British Comedy Guide

The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar). Copyright: Rondo / Avatar.

The Indian Doctor

BBC One and BBC One Wales comedy drama. 15 episodes (3 series), 2010 - 2013. Stars Sanjeev Bhaskar, Matthew Aubrey, Sion Pritchard, Ceri Murphy, Ayesha Dharker, Mali Harries, Ifan Huw Dafydd and others.

Series 2, Episode 3 - The Miracle

Trefelin is deserted as Prem waits for a vaccination unit to arrive from Cardiff.

Full synopsis

Trefelin is deserted as Prem waits for a vaccination unit to arrive from Cardiff. But Reverend Todd is still determined that only he can save the village, and wastes no time in telling the villagers that God has stepped in where Prem's medicine has failed. The community seems oblivious to the deadly outbreak that it faces, and Prem seems to be losing the fight. While Prem tries in vain to round up the villagers for immediate vaccination, Todd discovers his daughter Verity's affair with a married man and decides on a severe punishment. An exasperated Prem decides to call in the law to help him. And his battle with Todd for control over the village reaches a head when suddenly another man falls seriously ill.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 29th February 2012
45 minutes


  1. Tuesday 20th March 2012 at 10:45pm on BBC1 Wales
  2. Wednesday 20th June 2012 at 5:15pm on BBC HD
  3. Sunday 2nd September 2012 at 5:20pm on BBC1
  4. Sunday 18th January 2015 at 7:00pm on Drama
  5. Monday 18th January 2016 at 9:00am on Drama
  6. Monday 18th January 2016 at 4:00pm on Drama
  7. Monday 8th February 2016 at 9:00am on Drama
  8. Monday 8th February 2016 at 4:00pm on Drama
  9. Tuesday 9th February 2016 at 1:35am on Drama
  10. Thursday 7th April 2016 at 3:40pm on BBC2
  11. Thursday 11th August 2016 at 1:40am on Drama
  12. Friday 2nd September 2016 at 2:20am on Drama
  13. Monday 26th September 2016 at 7:10am on Drama

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Sanjeev Bhaskar Dr. Prem Sharma
Ayesha Dharker Kamini Sharma
Mali Harries Megan Evans
Ifan Huw Dafydd Owen Griffiths
Jacob Oakley Dan Griffiths
Erica Eirian Sian Davies
Dafydd Hywel Ceri Joseff
Alun Ap Brinley PC Emlyn Dawkins
Naomi Everson Gina Nicolli
Mark Heap Herbert Todd
Naomi Battrick Verity Todd
Indira Joshi Pushpa Bakshi
Rhys Ap William Dafydd Lewis
Sara Lloyd Mary Lewis
Guest cast
Carwyn Glyn Carwyn Rogers
Rebecca Harries Meinir Rogers
Ben Evans Card player
James Morgan Card player
Writing team
Nicholas Martin Writer
Sian Naiomi Writer
Production team
Lee Haven Jones Director
Eryl Huw Phillips Producer
Tom Ware Executive Producer
Deep Sehgal Executive Producer
Gerard Melling Executive Producer
William Oswald Editor
Venita Gribble Production Designer
Barnaby Taylor Composer

Share this page