The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar). Copyright: Rondo / Avatar.

The Indian Doctor

BBC One and BBC One Wales comedy drama. 15 episodes (3 series), 2010 - 2013. Stars Sanjeev Bhaskar, Matthew Aubrey, Sion Pritchard, Ceri Murphy, Ayesha Dharker, Mali Harries, Ifan Huw Dafydd and others.

Series 1, Episode 4 - The Van

The new doctor, Prem Sharma, comes up with a cunning plan to diagnose the miners' health problems.

Further details

The Indian Doctor. Richard Sharpe (Mark Williams). Copyright: Rondo / Avatar.

When a rather unusual van arrives in the village, the driver, a well-known rugby player, creates a real stir and it looks like the doctor's luck is changing for the better.

However, Richard Sharpe, the mine manager, is furious and does his best to turn the locals against the doctor and his X-ray van - although his wife, Sylvia Sharpe, is rather taken with the new driver.

Meanwhile, Gina gets some shocking news and the crucial green leather diary belonging to Dr Elwyn goes missing...

Broadcast details

Thursday 18th November 2010
45 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Sanjeev Bhaskar Dr. Prem Sharma
    Ayesha Dharker Kamini Sharma
    Mali Harries Megan Evans
    Ifan Huw Dafydd Owen Griffiths
    Jacob Oakley Dan Griffiths
    Erica Eirian Sian Davies
    Naomi Everson Gina Nicolli
    Mark Williams Richard Sharpe
    Beth Robert Sylvia Sharpe
    Alexander Vlahos Tom Evans
    Gareth Bale Alun
    Lee Mengo Bryn
    Guest cast
    Kyle Rees Trystan
    Clare Hingott Beryl
    Gareth Jewell Rhys Stephens
    Anwen Carlisle Cate
    Writing team
    Bill Armstrong Writer
    Production team
    Tim Whitby Director
    Tom Ware Executive Producer
    Deep Sehgal Executive Producer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 14 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?