The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar)
The Indian Doctor

The Indian Doctor

  • TV comedy drama
  • BBC One / BBC One Wales
  • 2010 - 2013
  • 18 episodes (3 series)

Period comedy drama starring Sanjeev Bhaskar as an Indian doctor who finds work in a South Wales mining village in the 1960s. Stars Sanjeev Bhaskar, Matthew Aubrey, Sion Pritchard, Ceri Murphy, Ayesha Dharker and more.

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 4,852

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 5 - The Source

Reporters gather at the surgery to hear that the outbreak of smallpox in Trefelin is finally under control.

Further details

Reporters gather at the surgery to hear that the outbreak of smallpox in Trefelin is finally under control. But Prem is not convinced that they have managed to locate the real source of the disease, and so the village is still not safe. Reverend Todd struggles to maintain his authority, not least over his wayward daughter Verity, who he has locked away from prying eyes. When her guilt-stricken lover confides in Prem, he begins a frantic search for Verity. Local copper Emlyn makes the most important declaration of his life, and Megan has to make a difficult decision.

Broadcast details

Friday 2nd March 2012
45 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 25th March 2012 10:25pm BBC1 Wales
Friday 22nd June 2012 5:15pm BBC HD
Sunday 30th September 2012 4:50pm BBC1
Sunday 1st February 2015 7:00pm Drama
Wednesday 20th January 2016 9:00am Drama
Wednesday 20th January 2016 4:00pm Drama
Wednesday 10th February 2016 9:00am Drama
Wednesday 10th February 2016 4:00pm Drama
Thursday 11th February 2016 1:00am Drama
Monday 11th April 2016 3:10pm BBC2
Saturday 13th August 2016 1:40am Drama
Tuesday 6th September 2016 2:20am Drama
Monday 26th September 2016 2:10am Drama
Friday 9th October 2020 1:45pm BBC1

Cast & crew

Sanjeev Bhaskar Dr. Prem Sharma
Ayesha Dharker Kamini Sharma
Mali Harries Megan Evans
Ifan Huw Dafydd Owen Griffiths
Jacob Oakley Dan Griffiths
Erica Eirian Sian Davies
Alun Ap Brinley PC Emlyn Dawkins
Naomi Everson Gina Nicolli
Mark Heap Herbert Todd
Naomi Battrick Verity Todd
Indira Joshi Pushpa Bakshi
Rhys Ap William Dafydd Lewis
Sara Lloyd Mary Lewis
Guest cast
Katy Sobey Esther Adams
Writing team
Rob Gittins Writer
Production team
Gwennan Sage Director
Eryl Huw Phillips Producer
Tom Ware Executive Producer
Deep Sehgal Executive Producer
Gerard Melling Executive Producer
William Oswald Editor
Venita Gribble Production Designer
Barnaby Taylor Composer

Share this page