The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar)
The Indian Doctor

The Indian Doctor

  • TV comedy drama
  • BBC One / BBC One Wales
  • 2010 - 2013
  • 18 episodes (3 series)

Period comedy drama starring Sanjeev Bhaskar as an Indian doctor who finds work in a South Wales mining village in the 1960s. Stars Sanjeev Bhaskar, Matthew Aubrey, Sion Pritchard, Ceri Murphy, Ayesha Dharker and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 1 - Foreign Bodies

Dr Prem Sharma and his wife Kamini nervously await the arrival of his dreaded mother-in-law, Pushpa.

Further details

Dr Prem Sharma and his wife Kamini nervously await the arrival of his dreaded mother-in-law, Pushpa. With India gripped by the chaos of a smallpox epidemic, Pushpa is taking the opportunity for a long-overdue inspection of her daughter's new life - and the son-in-law of whom she doesn't approve. Meanwhile, evangelist preacher Reverend Todd is struggling to control his pretty teenage daughter Verity, who is home from boarding school for the summer. He is preparing a slide presentation of his missionary work in Africa, and hopes to win a few new souls for his congregation. Prem's young receptionist Gina is desperate that the new reverend baptise her baby but, because the child was born out of wedlock, Todd refuses. Local copper Emlyn visits the doctor suffering from depression - or is it just boredom? Prem suggests Emlyn find some diversions from his routine, with awkward consequences.

Broadcast details

Monday 27th February 2012
45 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 13th March 2012 10:35pm BBC1 Wales
Monday 18th June 2012 5:15pm BBC HD
Saturday 18th August 2012 3:45pm BBC1 Scot
Sunday 19th August 2012 5:15pm BBC1
Sunday 4th January 2015 12:35am Drama
Sunday 4th January 2015 7:00pm Drama
Thursday 14th January 2016 9:00am Drama
Thursday 14th January 2016 4:00pm Drama
Thursday 4th February 2016 9:00am Drama
Thursday 4th February 2016 4:00pm Drama
Friday 5th February 2016 1:40am Drama
Tuesday 5th April 2016 3:40pm BBC2
Tuesday 9th August 2016 1:40am Drama
Wednesday 31st August 2016 2:20am Drama
Monday 12th September 2016 7:10am Drama
Monday 5th October 2020 1:45pm BBC1

Cast & crew

Sanjeev Bhaskar Dr. Prem Sharma
Ayesha Dharker Kamini Sharma
Mali Harries Megan Evans
Ifan Huw Dafydd Owen Griffiths
Jacob Oakley Dan Griffiths
Erica Eirian Sian Davies
Dafydd Hywel Ceri Joseff
Alun Ap Brinley PC Emlyn Dawkins
Naomi Everson Gina Nicolli
Mark Heap Herbert Todd
Naomi Battrick Verity Todd
Indira Joshi Pushpa Bakshi
Rhys Ap William Dafydd Lewis
Sara Lloyd Mary Lewis
Guest cast
Carwyn Jones Miner (Uncredited)
Kyle Rees Miner (Uncredited)
Lee Mengo Miner (Uncredited)
Ben Evans Miner (Uncredited)
James Morgan Harri (Uncredited)
Writing team
Nicholas Martin Writer
Production team
Gwennan Sage Director
Eryl Huw Phillips Producer
Tom Ware Executive Producer
Deep Sehgal Executive Producer
Gerard Melling Executive Producer
William Oswald Editor
Venita Gribble Production Designer
Barnaby Taylor Composer

Share this page