The Indian Doctor. Dr. Prem Sharma (Sanjeev Bhaskar)
The Indian Doctor

The Indian Doctor

  • TV comedy drama
  • BBC One / BBC One Wales
  • 2010 - 2013
  • 18 episodes (3 series)

Period comedy drama starring Sanjeev Bhaskar as an Indian doctor who finds work in a South Wales mining village in the 1960s. Stars Sanjeev Bhaskar, Matthew Aubrey, Sion Pritchard, Ceri Murphy, Ayesha Dharker and more.

Episode menu

Series 3 (BBC One Daytime), Episode 3 - Desperate Measures

As more and more villagers sign up for New Trefelin, Prem is left isolated.

Further details

An act of sabotage breaks the village's calm, and Basil Thomas wastes no time in telling Emlyn who he thinks is to blame.

Sian decides that farmer Ceri might be worth ensnaring with her feminine charms - at least if he really has come into some unexpected money - and Robert is doing his best to win Megan back, much to Emlyn's alarm. Emlyn signs up for a new house in the development, but Megan is far from pleased. And they're not the only couple to fall out when Prem confronts Kamini over a job from Basil. But Prem's anger is cut short when he discovers that, against his advice, Owen has gone back to work underground - with disastrous results.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 6th November 2013
45 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 16th February 2014 1:35pm BBC1 Scot
Sunday 16th February 2014 2:00pm BBC1
Sunday 22nd February 2015 7:00pm Drama
Monday 25th January 2016 9:00am Drama
Monday 25th January 2016 4:00pm Drama
Monday 15th February 2016 9:00am Drama
Monday 15th February 2016 4:00pm Drama
Tuesday 16th February 2016 2:00am Drama
Thursday 14th April 2016 3:10pm BBC2
Thursday 18th August 2016 1:40am Drama
Saturday 10th September 2016 2:20am Drama
Wednesday 28th September 2016 2:20am Drama
Wednesday 14th October 2020 1:45pm BBC1

Cast & crew

Sanjeev Bhaskar Dr. Prem Sharma
Matthew Aubrey Aled Williams
Sion Pritchard Daf Thomas
Ceri Murphy Graham
Ayesha Dharker Kamini Sharma
Mali Harries Megan Evans
Ifan Huw Dafydd Owen Griffiths
Jacob Oakley Dan Griffiths
Erica Eirian Sian Davies
Dafydd Hywel Ceri Joseff
Alun Ap Brinley PC Emlyn Dawkins
William Houston Basil Thomas
Rhydian Jones Robert Thomas
Lee Mengo Bryn
Guest cast
Rhodri Trefor Aneurin
Writing team
Rob Gittins Writer
Production team
Lee Haven Jones Director
Eryl Huw Phillips Producer
Tom Ware Executive Producer
Deep Sehgal Executive Producer
Gerard Melling Executive Producer
John Gillanders Editor
Venita Gribble Production Designer
Barnaby Taylor Composer

Share this page