Scot Squad. Chief Commissioner Cameron Miekelson (Jack Docherty)
Scot Squad

Scot Squad

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Scotland / BBC One Scotland / BBC Two Scotland
  • 2012 - 2023
  • 49 episodes (8 series)

Semi-improvised documentary spoof following the Scottish police force. Stars Jack Docherty, Jordan Young, Sally Reid, Ashley Smith, Chris Forbes and more.

Episode menu

Series 3, Episode 4

Scot Squad. Image shows from L to R: Phil Cunningham, PC Charlie McIntosh (Chris Forbes). Copyright: The Comedy Unit
On night shift, Volunteer Officer Ken Beattie shows up at a soup van and gets more than he bargained for as Cilla ladles out soup, sustenance and important intel on shady deals.

Further details

Out in the sticks, an outbreak of dodgy merchandise on-sale in rural pubs sees PC Charlie McIntosh and PC Jane Mackay working undercover. The cops need some extra muscle to nail the crooks and their call is answered by accordion legend Phil Cunningham who drops his squeezebox to get to grips with a rogue trader.

On night shift, Volunteer Officer Ken Beattie shows up at a soup van and gets more than he bargained for as Cilla ladles out soup, sustenance and important intel on shady deals.

Officer Karen encourages Bobby to call 101 to speak to trained police experts - and stop him coming into her station all the time. Later, the Desk Sergeant utilises all her diplomacy skills when asked to provide a reference for Bobby ahead of a job interview.

Elsewhere, Chief Commissioner Cameron Miekelson discovers a whole new world of insults when he flexes his itchy trigger finger and samples the world of online gaming, while PC Hugh McKirdy and Surjit Singh get on the wrong side of a short-sighted cyclist.

Urban cops, PC Jack McLaren and PC Sarah Fletcher, fail to score with a new street survey while Maggie Le Beau produces the perfect piece of equipment to cut short any pocket phonecalls to the police.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 25th January 2017
BBC One Scotland
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 15th November 2020 9:30pm BBC Scotland
Wednesday 18th November 2020 10:30pm BBC Scotland
Thursday 3rd June 2021 10:00pm BBC Scotland
Thursday 18th November 2021 10:00pm BBC Scotland
Thursday 8th June 2023 10:00pm BBC Scotland
Saturday 10th June 2023 9:00pm BBC Scotland

Cast & crew

Jack Docherty Chief Commissioner Cameron Miekelson
Jordan Young PC Jack McLaren
Sally Reid PC Sarah Fletcher
Ashley Smith PC Jane Mackay
Chris Forbes PC Charlie McIntosh
Karen Bartke Sergeant Karen Ann Millar
Darren Connell Bobby Muir
Manjot Sumal PC Surjit Singh
Graeme Stevely (as Grado) PC Hugh McKirdy
James Allenby-Kirk Volunteer Officer/Acting Sgt. Ken Beattie
ML Stone Maggie LeBeau
Joe Hullait Narrator
Guest cast
Ashley J Russell Romanna Andrews
Andrew Wason Pickle Pee
Maureen Carr Cilla
Phil Cunningham Self
Writing team
Joe Hullait Writer
Chris Grady Writer
Production team
Iain Davidson Director
Iain Davidson Producer
Ewan Angus Executive Producer
Rab Christie Executive Producer
Simon Hamilton Editor
Andy Drummond Production Designer
April MacTavish Costume Designer
Craig McKirdy Director of Photography
Nicole Tulloch Make-up Designer
Carol-Anne Henderson 1st Assistant Director


Writing Scot Squad

In the third of our series of blogs celebrating Scottish productions to mark the launch of BBC Writersroom in Scotland we turn to Comedy and the spoof Police documentary series Scot Squad, created, written and narrated by Joe Hullait.

Joe Hullait, BBC Writersroom, 25th January 2017

Share this page