Scot Squad. Chief Commissioner Cameron Miekelson (Jack Docherty).

Scot Squad

BBC Scotland and BBC One Scotland and BBC Two Scotland sitcom about police officers. 30 episodes (pilot + 5 series), 2012 - 2019. Stars Jack Docherty, Jordan Young, Sally Reid, Ashley Smith and others.


Brand new comedy following the first Unified Scottish Police Force. Scotland has a new band of Bravehearts on the streets, in the countryside, on the phone and behind a desk. Featuring in-depth interview footage with the force's first ever chief constable, Cameron Miekelson, as he shares his philosophy on law enforcement and his hopes and dreams for the future.

Further details

Scot Squad. Image shows from L to R: Sergeant Karen Ann Millar (Karen Bartke), Bobby Muir (Darren Connell). Copyright: The Comedy Unit.

PC Jack McLaren and PC Sarah Fletcher break up a domestic dispute, employing very different approaches to the problem.

Elsewhere, Volunteer Officer Ken Beattie buys soup for the homeless and reassures an angry victim of washing line theft. Back at the station, Sgt Karen Ann Miller deals with the public including regular 'informant' Bobby Muir.

Scot Squad also gets behind the wheel with traffic cops PC Surjit Singh and PC Michael Urquhart as they investigate an instance of bad parking; meets 999 call centre operator Maggie Le Beau and police partners PC Charlie McIntosh and PC Jane McKay.


This episode was originally scheduled for broadcast at 10pm on Monday 5th November 2012, but pulled just a few hours beforehand due to a tragic news event.

A re-edited version of the pilot episode was broadcast in the preceding week to Series 1, on Monday 27th October 2014. The edits brought in better quality graphics and changed Miekelson's rank from Chief Constable to Chief Commissioner.

Broadcast details

Thursday 29th November 2012
BBC Two Scotland
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Jack Docherty Chief Commissioner Cameron Miekelson
    Jordan Young PC Jack McLaren
    Sally Reid PC Sarah Fletcher
    Ashley Smith PC Jane Mackay
    Chris Forbes PC Charlie McIntosh
    Manjot Sumal PC Surjit Singh
    James Allenby-Kirk Officer/Acting Sgt. Ken Beattie
    ML Stone Maggie LeBeau
    Karen Bartke Sergeant Karen Ann Millar
    Darren Connell Bobby Muir
    Joe Hullait Narrator
    Guest cast
    Gayle Telfer Stevens Jamie-Leigh McGurk
    Finlay McLean Elderly Man
    Joe Hullait Homeless Man
    Grant O'Rourke PC Michael Urquhart
    Writing team
    Joe Hullait Writer
    Gabriel Robertson Writer (Additional Material)
    Production team
    Iain Davidson Director
    Owen Bell Executive Producer
    Rab Christie Producer
    Gavin Smith Executive Producer
    Walter J. Grant Editor
    Graham Rose Production Designer


    Who's in charge?

    Meet Chief Constable Miekelson, the leader of the new unified Scottish police force.

    Can't see a video here? Watch this clip on

    Featuring: Jack Docherty (Chief Commissioner Cameron Miekelson).

    Fletcher and McLaren investigate

    Can't see a video here? Watch this clip on

    Featuring: Jordan Young (PC Jack McLaren), Sally Reid (PC Sarah Fletcher).

    The case of the missing pants

    Volunteer officer Ken Beattie investigates washing line theft.

    Can't see a video here? Watch this clip on

    Featuring: James Allenby-Kirk (Officer/Acting Sgt. Ken Beattie).


    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 2 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?