My Family. Image shows from L to R: Michael Harper (Gabriel Thomson), Susan Harper (Zoë Wanamaker), Ben Harper (Robert Lindsay), Janey Harper (Daniela Denby-Ashe).

My Family

BBC One sitcom about a family. 120 episodes (11 series), 2000 - 2011. Stars Robert Lindsay, Zoë Wanamaker, Daniela Denby-Ashe, Gabriel Thomson and others.

Series 5

Highlights Special: Reloaded

First broadcast: Friday 12th March 2004

Clip show featuring scenes from the previous 49 episodes. With new scenes to introduce the clips. Susan is lying in bed with a broken leg and she and Ben discuss their family. They start arguing when Ben gives her a box of Turkish Delight.


1. The Mummy Returns

First broadcast: Friday 19th March 2004

More problems for Ben - Janey comes back home, Susan lies to the police, Michael's become a born again Christian and Abi confuses nature with naturism.


2. You Don't Know Jack

First broadcast: Friday 26th March 2004

Michael has a new friend in school and Susan has a new admirer. Unfortunately - or, for Ben, amusingly - they are one and the same.


3. What's Up, Docklands?

First broadcast: Friday 2nd April 2004

Ben and Susan decide to help out some friends by flat sitting their brand-new Docklands apartment. It doesn't turn out to be the weekend they anticipated when they accidentally burn the flat down.


4. Luck Be A Lady Tonight

First broadcast: Friday 16th April 2004

Roger Bailey produces a beautiful new girlfriend after Susan suggests making Abi jealous. The only problem is Roger's new girl isn't quite what she seems, in fact she charges £200 an hour!


5. First Past The Post

First broadcast: Friday 23rd April 2004

With a mixture of civic pride and sense of community, Susan decides to run for the council. As a result of this and Michael's new pet, Ben is tempted to run for the hills.


6. My Will Be Done

First broadcast: Friday 30th April 2004

Ben visits a website which predicts your death. When it tells him he doesn't have long to live he starts thinking about his will. Hearing this news Susan goes into over-drive planning his funeral. Meanwhile Nick is back, this time working as a funeral director.


7. My Fair Charlady

First broadcast: Friday 7th May 2004

Susan employs a cleaner, who turns out to be such a treasure that she takes over the cooking as well, much to the family's delight.


8. The Mouth Trap

First broadcast: Friday 14th May 2004

One of Ben's patients, whilst under anaesthetic, admits to killing his wife. Susan, currently overdosing on murder mysteries, decides to turn sleuth in an effort to expose the killer but then gets involved in a cover-up of her own.


9. While You Weren't Sleeping

First broadcast: Friday 21st May 2004

There are problems in the bedroom which threaten to drive Ben and Susan apart. Abi thinks this may be her fault but she develops her own problems as Janey becomes her personal shopper.


10. Dentist To The Stars

First broadcast: Friday 28th May 2004

One of Britain's best-loved heartthrobs visits Ben's surgery and although the mere mention of his name sends Susan weak at the knees, Ben is singularly unimpressed - at first. Soon the whole household is in turmoil - except for Michael - who's far too busy making money out of the film crew.


11. A Wife Less Ordinary

First broadcast: Friday 4th June 2004

Susan is bored with her lot and opts to run her life as a single girl again. Janey takes the opportunity to try running the home with a husband who is less than perfect, and Ben just runs away.


12. The Book Of Love

First broadcast: Friday 11th June 2004

Susan attends a neighbour's book club. Michael runs a booking agency exclusively for Roger, while Ben books a seat on the sofa but gets a new assistant too close to home.


13. Going Dental

First broadcast: Friday 18th June 2004

Susan forsakes Ben's dental conference to work on her novel, while Ben gets more than he bargained for when he seeks a new Harley Street partner.


Christmas Special: Glad Tidings We Bring

First broadcast: Friday 24th December 2004

Christmas for Susan means the ideal opportunity to take control of Ben, that is until Janey arrives home and makes the big announcement: she is getting married!

In-depth Guide

Series 5 Products