Birds Of A Feather. Image shows from L to R: Sharon Theodopolopodous (Pauline Quirke), Dorien Green (Lesley Joseph), Tracey Stubbs (Linda Robson). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Retort.

Birds Of A Feather (1989)

ITV and BBC One sitcom about three friends living in Essex. 127 episodes (12 series), 1989 - 2017. Stars Pauline Quirke, Linda Robson, Lesley Joseph, Charlie Quirke and others.

Series 11, Episode 7 is repeated on ITV3 on Sunday at 11:05pm.

Series 2, Episode 8 - You Pays Yer Money

A by-election in Chigwell causes tension about who to vote for between Tracey, Sharon and Dorien. Sharon wants Darryl's vote after Tracey paid his poll tax, but he wants the full £350 for the pleasure, leading Sharon to take drastic action.

Further details

When the voting cards arrive Sharon is disappointed when Tracey reminds her that she didn't register and so can not vote.

Tracey has paid Darryl's poll tax, despite him being in prison. He goes mad when she tells him that she has paid it for him. Sharon wants his vote, but Darryl says if she wants it, she can pay the £350 for it.

Dorien tells Tracey she must vote Green and derides Sharon for being Labour.

Sharon goes canvassing and selling merchandise in the hope of raising the £350.

Dorien's sudden fondness for the Green party becomes apparent, she's only doing it to get a man.

Sharon has picked up a consignment of secuirty bears. Teddy bears that have alarms inside. It impresses the local Conservative candidate when he comes canvassing.

After arguing Sharon goes back to her old flat, to find that Stan has done away with her bed, couch and most of her belongings. She soon goes back to Chigwell.

At the polling station when Sharon hands Darryl's card in and is questioned as to why it says Mr, she tells them that she is halfway through a sex change operation.

As the results come in the three women reveal that they all voted Labour.

Broadcast details

Thursday 25th October 1990
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Pauline Quirke Sharon Theodopolopodous
    Linda Robson Tracey Stubbs
    Lesley Joseph Dorien Green
    Alun Lewis Darryl Stubbs
    Guest cast
    Jodie Scott Girl
    Paul Geoffrey Labour Candidate
    Anna Keaveney Green Candidate
    Robert Llewellyn Tory Candidate
    Mark Straker Official
    Alec Sabin TV Reporter
    Writing team
    George Costigan Writer
    Julia North Writer
    Production team
    Charlie Hanson Director
    Nic Phillips Producer
    Allan McKeown Executive Producer
    Michael Pilsworth Executive Producer
    Kenneth Sharp (as Ken Sharp) Production Designer
    David Snell Composer
    Laurence Marks Creator
    Maurice Gran Creator

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 41 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?