Birds Of A Feather. Image shows from L to R: Sharon Theodopolopodous (Pauline Quirke), Dorien Green (Lesley Joseph), Tracey Stubbs (Linda Robson). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Retort.

Birds Of A Feather (1989)

ITV and BBC One sitcom about three friends living in Essex. 127 episodes (12 series), 1989 - 2017. Stars Pauline Quirke, Linda Robson, Lesley Joseph, Charlie Quirke and others.

Series 1, Episode 1 - Nicked

Sharon is poor with a low-life husband, her sister Tracey lives the high life in a luxury house, but when their husbands are sent to prison for armed robbery they are forced to live together, next to Chigwell's most vivacious socialite.

Further details

A downtrodden Sharon living in a council tower block prepares to visit her sister Tracey's luxury house complete with it's own swimming pool, but that's not before she realises her no good husband Chris has robbed money from her purse and acquired a pair of knickers in the glove compartment of his new Ford Zephyr.

Tracey shows off her new house, Dalentrace, while her husband Darryl and Chris go out on business. It isn't long before the next door neighbour, Dorien comes knocking in need of a favour, she wants Tracey to hold a lingerie party as her carpet cleaners turned up a day early. Being a social snob, she can't have her friends in her house.

When the police come knocking they immediately assume that they have been tipped off about the lingerie party, only to be informed that their husbands have been arrested for armed robbery. They get twelve years.

Broadcast details

Monday 16th October 1989
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Pauline Quirke Sharon Theodopolopodous
    Linda Robson Tracey Stubbs
    Lesley Joseph Dorien Green
    David Cardy Chris Theodopolopodous
    Alun Lewis Darryl Stubbs
    Guest cast
    Christine Ellerbeck Lisa
    Nigel Humphreys Detective Inspector Tatum
    Brian Lawrence (as Bryen Lawrence) Detective Sergeant Coltrane
    Peter Hughes Judge
    June Page Rose
    Catherine Clarke Dora
    Richard Addison Clerk of Court
    Steve Fortune Policeman
    Peter Scarsbrook Policeman
    Writing team
    Laurence Marks Writer
    Maurice Gran Writer
    Production team
    Tony Dow Director
    Esta Charkham Producer
    Allan McKeown Executive Producer
    John Jarvis Editor
    Chris Wadsworth Editor
    John Bristow Production Designer
    David Snell Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 41 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?