Birds Of A Feather. Image shows from L to R: Sharon Theodopolopodous (Pauline Quirke), Dorien Green (Lesley Joseph), Tracey Stubbs (Linda Robson). Copyright: Alomo Productions / Retort.

Birds Of A Feather (1989)

ITV and BBC One sitcom about three friends living in Essex. 127 episodes (12 series), 1989 - 2017. Stars Pauline Quirke, Linda Robson, Lesley Joseph, Charlie Quirke and others.

Series 2, Episode 5 - Keep Off The Grass

The sisters face a moral dilemma. They have seen someone they know involved in a crime, but can they grass him up? Tracey says yes, Sharon says no, but they both change their minds after speaking to Darryl and Chris. Dorien thinks there is only one option.

Further details

During a a visit to the pub, Sharon and Tracey spot a familiar face, Vinny Hutchins, fresh out of prison.

Dorien s worried that toyboy Luke will have to move north as his kitchen showroom is being threatened with closure if sales don't improve. Dorien asks Tracey to buy a kitchen.

After leaving the pub Sharon and Tracey spot Vinny pulling up in a and racing to another, they then find out that he has been on a job. Sharon says that they can't grass on him but Tracey thinks he should pay his debt to society like Darryl.

During a visit, Chris tells Sharon that Vinny knocks his wife about, Darryl tells Tracey that no one should grass. At home they have bot changed their minds and argue about whether to call the police and claim the £10,000 reward money.

While watching a local crime bulletin, Dorien recognises the man in the CCTV footage as the same one from the pub. She questions the girls about him, they admit they haven't called the police yet.

Just as the girls decide to call the police anonymously and waive the £10,000, Dorien takes matters into her own hands and claims the reward money.

Dorien uses the money to buy a kitchen from Luke.

Broadcast details

Thursday 4th October 1990
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Pauline Quirke Sharon Theodopolopodous
    Linda Robson Tracey Stubbs
    Lesley Joseph Dorien Green
    Peter Polycarpou Chris Theodopolopodous
    Alun Lewis Darryl Stubbs
    Guest cast
    Michael Cassidy Vinny Hutchins
    Shaw Taylor Self
    Writing team
    Sue Teddern Writer
    Production team
    Charlie Hanson Director
    Nic Phillips Producer
    Allan McKeown Executive Producer
    Michael Pilsworth Executive Producer
    Phil Moss Editor
    Steve Hellaby Editor
    Kenneth Sharp (as Ken Sharp) Production Designer
    David Snell Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 41 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?